Chiropractors: worth it, or not? Legit?

I tried searching for a previous thread on this, but had no luck. So, here goes:

My neck and back are stiff all the time, at least since a car accident I was in 1.5 years ago. My primary care physician determined that I have no injury, but the best he could recommend for me was stretching. The stretching does me little good.

I was thinking about visiting a chiropractor, but I have no idea whether (as a general rule) they are trustworthy, or worth the money. What do Dopers think: is it worth it, or is it dangerous, or simply not worth the money? Any suggestions would be appreciated.

I am not a doctor but . . .

http://www.quackwatch.com/index.html has a very large section on chiropractic. You’re better off getting a regular deep tissue massage. If you must get an adjustment, your doctor can probably recommend a good, reliable physical therapist.

Look here: http://www.quackwatch.com/01QuackeryRelatedTopics/chiroeval.html for some information regarding the good and bad of chiropractic. Basically, they say that back adjustments can help, sometimes a lot, but neck manipulation is dangerous and should be avoided.

Worth it? Depends on your problem and your chiropractor. I am a physician who works frequently with chiropractors. These are guys I’ve known and trust to do the right things.

If the chiropractor looks at your spine x-rays and tells you they show that you have a tendency towards liver cancer, but if he adjusts your back twice weekly for the rest of your life, he can probably keep you from coming down with it, run away!

Stay away from the ones who offer to treat your other medical conditions, like your diabetes, asthma or high blood pressure.

Stay away from the ones who keep having you come back frequently for more than 8 weeks for “maintenance adjustments”.