Going to use Uber for the first time in a couple of weeks, and I have questions

As I’ve mentioned in another post, I’m going to a friend’s wedding in Tucson in three Saturdays (and no, I haven’t decided what I’m wearing yet). I need to get to the hotel, which is half an hour from the airport. I’m guessing that the cheapest way to get there is a ridesharing app like Uber, but I’ve never used it before, so I have two questions:

1. I don’t have a smartphone — only an iPad, and it’s WiFi only. All the airports I’ll be using to get to Tucson have free WiFi, as far as I know, but otherwise, I won’t generally have Internet access. Is this an issue in any way?

2. How far in advance will I have to reserve a trip both to and from the airport?

Thanks in advance.

You might want to check that Uber are allowed to pick up from that specific airport.

Have you checked if there is a complimentary airport shuttle run by the hotel you’re staying in?

My very limited understanding of Uber includes factoids such as “you need to have the app installed on your device to book a ride.”

Under the circumstances, it might be a good idea to install the app now, so you’ve got it when you need to use the service. While you’re at it, you could see if the FAQs on the website address the questions you have (including the one about whether their drivers are allowed to pick up at the airport).

You might want to ask the hotel.

1. You need the Uber app, which you can install on your iPad, but you will also need wifi.

2. You don’t book Uber in advance. You pull up the app, and if there are drivers near you they will show up on the map, along with their time to arrive at your location. If you want to book one, you just click the button.

All of this is moot, though, because I just Googled, and TUS does not allow Uber pickups. Your best options are probably airport shuttle or hotel shuttle.