Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-05-2018, 06:36 PM
PastTense PastTense is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6,920
When They Draw Blood for Blood Tests, Why Do They Draw So Much Blood?

Considering how small blood cells are...
  #2  
Old 09-05-2018, 06:49 PM
steatopygia's Avatar
steatopygia steatopygia is offline
Experimental FOC Test Pilot
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: North Idaho mostly
Posts: 1,568
It isn't really that much, it does look like a lot though.

Most blood testing tubes are three to 6 ml. The largest commonly used tubes are 10 ml.
Depending on what kind of tests are being done, there will be between 1 and 5 tubes drawn (usually). A high average would be 30 ml.
That is 2 tablespoons.

Last edited by steatopygia; 09-05-2018 at 06:49 PM.
  #3  
Old 09-05-2018, 06:51 PM
Jackmannii Jackmannii is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: the extreme center
Posts: 30,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by PastTense View Post
WhenThey Draw Blood for Blood Tests, Why Do They Draw So Much Blood?
Elizabeth Holmes, is that you?
  #4  
Old 09-05-2018, 07:36 PM
Exapno Mapcase Exapno Mapcase is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: NY but not NYC
Posts: 30,511
Have you ever tried to test a single blood cell?

I'm always amazed so that many tests can be done on so little blood.
  #5  
Old 09-05-2018, 08:01 PM
gotpasswords gotpasswords is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: San Francisco area
Posts: 16,234
You need a certain amount for the blood to stay liquid. If the lab collected just the one or two drops that they actually need, they'd dry up pretty quickly. Also, the "extra" gives some insurance against minor mishaps like "Oh, that was supposed to be a creatine level, not cholesterol? Good thing there's more in the tube..."
  #6  
Old 09-05-2018, 08:21 PM
Joey P Joey P is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 27,914
Quote:
Originally Posted by gotpasswords View Post
You need a certain amount for the blood to stay liquid. If the lab collected just the one or two drops that they actually need, they'd dry up pretty quickly. Also, the "extra" gives some insurance against minor mishaps like "Oh, that was supposed to be a creatine level, not cholesterol? Good thing there's more in the tube..."
Not that this is an argument for drawing a minuscule amount, but those vials do have an anticoagulant in them.
  #7  
Old 09-05-2018, 09:46 PM
Projammer's Avatar
Projammer Projammer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: SW Arkansas
Posts: 6,483
There is also the occasional possibility that the results of one test reveals the need for additional test(s). It's a whole lot easier to put a vial back on the conveyor than to call the patient up and ask them to come back in to collect another sample.
__________________
Lurking in the corridors of my mind.
  #8  
Old 09-05-2018, 11:10 PM
Terminus Est's Avatar
Terminus Est Terminus Est is online now
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: The tropics
Posts: 7,224
Note that red blood cells are mostly just bags of hemoglobin. Almost all of the substances tested for in a blood test are found in the plasma. This includes glucose, amino acids, cholesterol, fatty acids, hormones, carbon dioxide, urea, lactic acid, antibodies, and various narcotic substances.
  #9  
Old 09-05-2018, 11:34 PM
Nava Nava is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hey! I'm located! WOOOOW!
Posts: 39,716
And the "other" blood cells get counted too. Platelets, white cells divided by kind.
  #10  
Old 09-06-2018, 08:40 AM
Qadgop the Mercotan's Avatar
Qadgop the Mercotan Qadgop the Mercotan is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Slithering on the hull
Posts: 26,559
Most blood tests aren't looking at the cells anyway, they're looking at substances in the plasma, and sometimes that particular assay takes a lot of plasma.
  #11  
Old 09-06-2018, 08:47 AM
mcgato mcgato is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Hoboken
Posts: 1,288
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackmannii View Post
Elizabeth Holmes, is that you?
I chuckled. I'm in the middle of reading the book on that, Bad Blood. Definitely an interesting read.
  #12  
Old 09-06-2018, 09:26 AM
PoppaSan's Avatar
PoppaSan PoppaSan is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Up nort'
Posts: 2,051
Quote:
Originally Posted by Projammer View Post
... put a vial back on the conveyor ....
?
  #13  
Old 09-06-2018, 09:28 AM
DesertDog DesertDog is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mesa, Ariz.
Posts: 4,405
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joey P View Post
Not that this is an argument for drawing a minuscule amount, but those vials do have an anticoagulant in them.
Some do, some don't. That's why Vacutainer tube tops have all those purty colors on them. Red/black have no preservatives at all in them.
__________________
A Prince, whose character is thus marked by every act which may define a Tyrant, is unfit to be the ruler of a free people. ITMFA
  #14  
Old 09-06-2018, 09:31 AM
Nava Nava is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hey! I'm located! WOOOOW!
Posts: 39,716
A lot of the tests on blood are done by automated machines, PoppaSan. They actually have vertical conveyors; some models let you put in whole racks of vials, older models you still need to fill the intake area manually. It's been over 20 years so both techniques and protocols will have changed, but back when I did a stage in my local hospital's lab I was told an 'extra' tube was taken in order to be able to do retests without doing redraws, and also as safety in case some klutz dropped a tube.

Last edited by Nava; 09-06-2018 at 09:32 AM.
  #15  
Old 09-06-2018, 09:45 AM
kayaker's Avatar
kayaker kayaker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Western Pennsylvania
Posts: 30,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qadgop the Mercotan View Post
Most blood tests aren't looking at the cells anyway, they're looking at substances in the plasma, and sometimes that particular assay takes a lot of plasma.
Additionally, while some tests can be done on plasma (the liquid component of anticoagulant containing blood), some require serum (the liquid component of blood that has been allowed to clot).
  #16  
Old 09-06-2018, 09:52 AM
CookingWithGas's Avatar
CookingWithGas CookingWithGas is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Tysons Corner, VA, USA
Posts: 12,501
I don't know anything about blood tests but math says that when you are testing a sample for a quantity of anything, the larger the sample, the more accurate the results (up to a point). It could be that the statisticians have determined the optimal blood volume for quant testing.
__________________
Making the world a better place one fret at a time.
| | |會 |會 |會 |會 | |:| | |會 |會
  #17  
Old 09-06-2018, 05:49 PM
dwyr's Avatar
dwyr dwyr is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Just outside the group
Posts: 2,795
As people have already said, the lab is testing the serum or plasma portion of the blood. I'd like to add that approximately half of any blood sample from a non-anemic person will consist of cells - red, white, and platelets - leaving the other half being what is actually used to test (most of the time).
Also, in my experience, some doctors are very fond of adding on additional tests as they think of them. Sometimes days later - we store all specimens in the refrigerator for 7 days. A few physicians at my hospital prefer the "shotgun" approach and order one of everything. The phlebotomists usually draw a "rainbow" (one tube of every color) so they don't have to stick the patients multiple times. And it is a rare event but tubes do sometimes break in the centrifuge so extra is nice.
  #18  
Old 09-06-2018, 05:51 PM
Johnny L.A. Johnny L.A. is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: NoWA
Posts: 59,795
When They Draw Blood for Blood Tests, Why Do They Draw So Much Blood?

Snacks. For later.
  #19  
Old 09-06-2018, 07:34 PM
TokyoBayer's Avatar
TokyoBayer TokyoBayer is online now
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 9,570
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny L.A. View Post
Snacks. For later.
For those doubters:

Well, have you seen any vampires lately?

So it must be working.
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Send questions for Cecil Adams to: cecil@straightdope.com

Send comments about this website to: webmaster@straightdope.com

Terms of Use / Privacy Policy

Advertise on the Straight Dope!
(Your direct line to thousands of the smartest, hippest people on the planet, plus a few total dipsticks.)

Copyright 2018 STM Reader, LLC.

 
Copyright © 2017