Old 09-16-2019, 11:26 AM

(Ken Burns) Country Music Documentary

I’m a big fan of Burns documentaries and enjoyed the first episode of his latest opus on Country Music which aired last night.

I’m no expert on the topic and did not know about how seed and insurance companies created popular radio stations or about the huge influence of Carson, the Carter family and Jimmie Rodgers.

Critics largely appear to have liked the previews, but some think more time could have been spent with their favourites and a few people were not highlighted. But editorial decisions render such thoughts inevitable. Any other fans out there?
Old 09-16-2019, 12:11 PM

Loved it!
Old 09-16-2019, 01:01 PM

I enjoyed it overall, and learned a lot about the early years of radio and how acts like the Carter Family and Jimmie Rodgers got their start.

I did feel like I learned a little more about Rodgers than I really wanted to, though.

I can't wait for the 1950s and 1960s!
Old 09-16-2019, 02:36 PM

The Carter/Cash thing is enormously important to country music. I read a book on the Carter family years ago. It was written before Johnny and June.
Old 09-16-2019, 06:56 PM
Charter Member

I hadn't heard about this show, ack! Now I need to find it. Hopefully it will be rebroadcast.
Old 09-16-2019, 07:04 PM

If they don't talk about Uncle Dave Macon, I for one will be very disappointed.
Old 09-16-2019, 07:07 PM

I enjoyed the first segment, will be watching the second tonight.
Here's a critical review that I listened to today, makes some valid points, but I'm all in for the whole thing.
Old 09-16-2019, 07:35 PM

FWIW, it is an eight-part, sixteen hour series on public television that began yesterday. It will certainly be rebroadcast since it is a major fundraising plank for these stations.
Old 09-16-2019, 07:47 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by River Hippie View Post
I enjoyed the first segment, will be watching the second tonight.