Old 02-29-2020, 07:23 PM
Charter Member

Covid-19 at the conventions

Or at political rallies.

So far we've had 4 infections in the US which are not traceable to someone going to China or other places where there've been breakouts. So the virus is out in the community, spreading hither and yon. They've all been on the West Coast, but that doesn't mean the rest of the country is safe. These four are just the beginning; there should be plenty more all across the country in the next couple-three weeks.

Are presidential candidates going to have to stop holding rallies because of Covid 19? Cancel the conventions this summer? Hold the conventions via Skype?
Old 02-29-2020, 08:15 PM

I work in the trade show/convention business. I have already lost two gigs to COVID-19, one early May and one in late June. I expect to lose more.

Yes, one show I do is talking about no attendees but still having the presenters show up. The entire thing, every single session over 4 days, is already broadcast on the internet live and then available for later viewing on the company's website, so this would just mean that every session is done in an empty room instead of one filled with people.

I'm hoping they don't do that, because it would be a terrible trend for the industry.
Old 02-29-2020, 08:22 PM

No, no, and no.

The threat from coronavirus is greatly exaggerated. Thus far, worldwide, far more people have died from the flu than from coronavirus. Far more people have died from malaria than from the coronavirus. Far more people have died from a lot of causes than from coronavirus.