Old 04-20-2018, 12:02 AM

Vote GOP 2018!

This thread is about the three political campaign posters linked below. You really ought to save your comments until after you have viewed them. There is no nudity, profanity or blood in them, but nonetheless they may be NSFW if you work someplace sensitive to, oh, I dunno, controversy? We try not to talk politics where I work so I personally wouldn't open these images there, but at previous workplaces I would have yukked it up. So, use your judgment.

Vote GOP 2018! Poster #1

Yah, sure, the style is a bit amateurish. I am not a professional artist. Who knows, maybe someone will come along and re-work it in an all-digital format, or guide me to some really good yet free software for this kind of thing. Anyway, one could criticize this one as hyperbolic or perhaps ham-fisted, but then again, every element is justified by historical events. For instance, did you know that more people were killed by police in 2017 than black people were lynched during the worst year of Jim Crow? cite. Yet the GOP seems to never to criticize the police, preferring to position themselves as "law and order", a phrase which itself is a euphemism for the mass incarceration of black people. Such is the logic of these images.

Vote GOP 2018! Poster #2

It was hard to decide what to include in the list here, even though it is rather extensive. I'm open to suggestions- a Version 2 is definitely an option. But, has anyone else noticed that the GOP these days seems especially hateful while paradoxically being the party of evangelicals? Seems like they are referring to a different Jesus than the one I grew up with...

Vote GOP 2018! Poster #3