Old 11-10-2018, 09:52 PM
Charter Member

I love my bidet! Ever try one?

I've been familiar with the concept of bidets since the mid 70's, but never did get around to trying one, despite repeated opportunities. As a physician, I fully support the concept and have recommended them to many patients with special needs, in addition to folks who just desire improved hygiene. As a guy, I just couldn't get myself to sit down on a water fountain. Especially since it was a separate appliance that sat a few feet removed from the commode.

Until a bit over a year ago, when we stayed at a fancy hotel in Vancouver, BC where the toilet had a high tech bidet seat. And I finally just said "oh, what the heck" and after studying the manual and doing my business, fired it up. And promptly enjoyed a most sublime experience that beat the hell out of using even the most gentle of toilet tissue, followed by a warm breeze on my fundament. Wow! Magical toilet seat, where have you been all my life?

Sadly the trip ended all too soon, and the Mrs. (who was also converted to bidet seat enthusiast) and I returned home to our mundane throne, a fine Kohler product in and of itself, but otherwise wholly pedestrian. We did vow to gift each other a nice bidet seat commode some future Christmas or Anniversary, though.

And when our trusty old commode finally showed signs of failure earlier this fall, the time finally came. We hied ourselves down to the Kohler Design Center, in Kohler, WI and took a magical tour of all the bidet seats/contraptions they had to offer, and after having lengthy technical discussions with the sales rep, committed to getting our new bathroom fixture, a commode with the deluxe bidet seat!