Old 11-17-2018, 03:30 PM
Charter Member

40th anniversary of Jonestown tragedy

I’m sure many of us have seen the movie, but this article really hits home about how awful Jonestown was.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/20...e_iOSApp_Other

In college orientation, we had an cult awareness presentation among the many presentations we were required to attend. I didn’t think much of it at the time, but I’m glad it was required.
Old 11-17-2018, 04:32 PM

Jim Jones is by far the most fascinating American mass murderer of all time.

Last edited by Stuntman Mike; 11-17-2018 at 04:35 PM.
Old 11-17-2018, 07:51 PM
The Central Scrutinizer

My old boss was stationed in Panama at the time and was one of those tasked to go down and recover the bodies. As a fellow soldier I think I was the only one at work he mentioned it to and he didn't say much. It was obvious it haunted him.
Old 11-17-2018, 09:25 PM

I was surprised that 70% of the victims were Black:
https://jonestown.sdsu.edu/?page_id=70495
Old 11-18-2018, 08:16 AM

Wow...a lot of important material at that website. Most of it is directly about soecific victims and survivors, but I also recommend this recent essay by a Caltech grad reflecting on the tragedy and linking it to his own hazing experience (and to the current US political climate): https://jonestown.sdsu.edu/?page_id=81378

A few years ago, I read an excellent biography of the 1850s anti-slavery activist John Brown. For me the paradox of Jonestown is embodied in how it both resembled Brown’s utopian community in the Adirondack Mountains of New York State — a (failed) agricultural project in the wilderness, with blacks and whites living and working together as equals, astoundingly radical for its time — AND it resembled an antebellum Southern US plantation, the very system that Brown was fighting so hard to abolish.