Old 03-21-2019, 01:28 PM

Proposed state laws to require presidential candidate tax returns

Bunches of states are at various stages of legislation that would require presidential candidates to release some number of years of tax returns in order to appear on their ballots.

These laws are really, really dumb.

My reasons:

1) They're probably unconstitutional. Now, I'm not a lawyer, or a constitutional scholar, or even someone who's read a whole lot about this topic, but what little I have read seems pretty open and shut that this wouldn't pass muster with the courts. Why waste the time?

2) They're un-American. "If you have nothing to hide, what are you afraid of?" is not how we do things here. Let candidates keep their privacy if they want.

3) They won't change anything. People can vote how they want, and apparently Americans have decided that they don't care whether or not someone releases their tax returns. After all, this "time honored tradition" isn't even that old, there was a time when it would have been unheard of to care about seeing someone's tax returns.

4) They're clearly targeted. I was under the impression that we weren't cool with laws that were targeted at a specific individual. If that's changed, I didn't get the memo.

5) They're just tax returns. In the specific case of Trump, I'm honestly not sure what bombshells anyone's expecting to find. All of the real dirty shit is going to be layered in LLCs and the Trump Organization and various trusts. Someone's income tax situation isn't going to say anything at all about laundering money from Russian mobsters. If it did, they'd be in jail already, because last time I checked the IRS was the authorities. Tax returns are literally the only part of someone's personal financial history that someone has deemed clean enough not to hide from the government.

Anyone disagree?
Old 03-21-2019, 01:46 PM