Old 07-19-2019, 09:46 AM

Apollo 2019: What steps would we change

The Apollo 11 mission had so many complex stages from take off to the moon landing. The one where the craft had to do a 180 degree turn to dock back on the command module, soon after the Saturn V tanks had been ditched, comes to mind.

So with todays technology, how would we simplify the process. Are so many undockings and dockings of various vehicles necessary.

What will change with Apollo 2019 moon mission including man on moon part.
Old 07-19-2019, 09:52 AM
Charter Member

I'm not an engineer but I'm guessing there are a wide array of procedures that would now be handled by computer that had to be done by humans on the original Apollo missions. And that meant that the Apollos had to be designed so that humans had the layout and the equipment to do all these things.
Old 07-19-2019, 10:01 AM
Charter Member

Yes, the Saturn V had over 80 thrusters and motors. As well as the multiple stages you mentioned. However, it was pretty much the only feasible way to accomplish the mission. The Lunar Orbit Rendezvous was initially flat out dismissed by NASA but advocacy by various proponents and the realization that landing the command module on the moon would require a ridiculous amount fuel in the CM and launch vehicle.

I think the fundamental difference today is that the vehicle would be assembled in low earth orbit at the ISS. This vehicle doesn't need to be aerodynamic. Perhaps this vehicle parks in Lunar Orbit, with smaller landers doing the lunar exploration. Supply drones would be necessary to supply fuel.
Old 07-19-2019, 12:10 PM

Complexity, in itself, isn’t really a problem if it’s what’s required. As they said in the wonderful miniseries “From the Earth to the Moon”, astronauts are smart - they’ll figure it out.