# Another plant based product - Hershey's candy bars

**URL:** <https://boards.straightdope.com/t/another-plant-based-product-hersheys-candy-bars/1025469>\
**Category:** Cafe Society\
**Created:** [December 6, 2025, 6:12pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/another-plant-based-product-hersheys-candy-bars/1025469 "2025-12-06T18:12:38Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 20\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![mixdenny](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/mixdenny/32/2962_2.png) [@mixdenny](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/mixdenny)\
**Post date:** [December 6, 2025, 6:12pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/another-plant-based-product-hersheys-candy-bars/1025469/1 "2025-12-06T18:12:38Z")

</div>

I was surprised to see some bars labeled as plant based. I mean it’s chocolate. A bit of research shows they have replaced the milk powder with oat milk.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![susan](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/susan/32/17537_2.png) [@susan](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/susan)\
**Post date:** [December 6, 2025, 6:13pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/another-plant-based-product-hersheys-candy-bars/1025469/2 "2025-12-06T18:13:45Z")

</div>

Well, milk is animal-based. /married to someone who can’t have dairy.

ETA: I welcome such labeling, as otherwise it can take half an hour to comb through every chocolate at the grocery to find one she or vegan friends can eat.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![dolphinboy](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/dolphinboy/32/330_2.png) [@dolphinboy](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/dolphinboy)\
**Post date:** [December 6, 2025, 6:57pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/another-plant-based-product-hersheys-candy-bars/1025469/3 "2025-12-06T18:57:08Z")

</div>

Yes, [Hershey’s](https://shop.hersheys.com/our-brands/hersheys/034000941896.html) has introduced a separate line of plant-based, dairy-free confections made with oat-based ingredients to cater to vegan consumers or those with dairy sensitivities. These products are clearly labeled as “ **Plant-Based** ” and are available as distinct options, not as a replacement for the original formula.

The classic Hershey’s Milk Chocolate bars still contain fresh milk as a primary ingredient, so it’s essential to read the label if you want the oat milk versions.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Dewey\_Finn](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/dewey_finn/32/4222_2.png) [@Dewey\_Finn](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Dewey_Finn)\
**Post date:** [December 6, 2025, 7:04pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/another-plant-based-product-hersheys-candy-bars/1025469/4 "2025-12-06T19:04:16Z")

</div>

Some candy bars are no longer marketed as “milk chocolate” but instead as “chocolate” because the manufacturers are reducing the amount of cocoa butter, and there are regulations on the amount of cocoa butter necessary to call the product milk chocolate.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Beckdawrek](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/beckdawrek/32/3647_2.png) [@Beckdawrek](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Beckdawrek)\
**Post date:** [December 6, 2025, 7:25pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/another-plant-based-product-hersheys-candy-bars/1025469/5 "2025-12-06T19:25:50Z")

</div>

Chocolate grows on trees. It was always plant based. If you ask me.😆

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Dewey\_Finn](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/dewey_finn/32/4222_2.png) [@Dewey\_Finn](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Dewey_Finn)\
**Post date:** [December 6, 2025, 7:29pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/another-plant-based-product-hersheys-candy-bars/1025469/6 "2025-12-06T19:29:10Z")

</div>

Doesn’t “milk chocolate” imply the inclusion of milk?

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Zoobi](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/z/13edae/32.png) [@Zoobi](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Zoobi)\
**Post date:** [December 6, 2025, 8:00pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/another-plant-based-product-hersheys-candy-bars/1025469/7 "2025-12-06T20:00:47Z")

</div>

Yes people are being purposely obtuse.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![LSLGuy](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/lslguy/32/5813_2.png) [@LSLGuy](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/LSLGuy)\
**Post date:** [December 6, 2025, 8:18pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/another-plant-based-product-hersheys-candy-bars/1025469/8 "2025-12-06T20:18:45Z")

</div>

Even better, beer is cholesterol-free.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Skywatcher](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/skywatcher/32/254_2.png) [@Skywatcher](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Skywatcher)\
**Post date:** [December 6, 2025, 8:38pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/another-plant-based-product-hersheys-candy-bars/1025469/9 "2025-12-06T20:38:08Z")

</div>

> [@susan](#):
>
> I welcome such labeling, as otherwise it can take half an hour to comb through every chocolate at the grocery to find one she or vegan friends can eat.

Unless Hershey’s also stops using refined sugar for their plant-based chocolate, I doubt our vegan friend will switch. I forgot which is her preferred brand, might be Lilly’s.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Chronos](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/chronos/32/134_2.png) [@Chronos](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Chronos)\
**Post date:** [December 6, 2025, 8:52pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/another-plant-based-product-hersheys-candy-bars/1025469/10 "2025-12-06T20:52:20Z")

</div>

> [@Skywatcher](#):
>
> Unless Hershey’s also stops using refined sugar for their plant-based chocolate, I doubt our vegan friend will switch.

Gotcha, switch to HFCS, then.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Dewey\_Finn](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/dewey_finn/32/4222_2.png) [@Dewey\_Finn](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Dewey_Finn)\
**Post date:** [December 6, 2025, 8:56pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/another-plant-based-product-hersheys-candy-bars/1025469/11 "2025-12-06T20:56:52Z")

</div>

Googling, the “HERSHEY’S Plant Based Oat Chocolate Confection Almond & Sea Salt Candy Bar” just lists “sugar” as the first ingredient; not specifying the type of sugar.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Beckdawrek](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/beckdawrek/32/3647_2.png) [@Beckdawrek](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Beckdawrek)\
**Post date:** [December 6, 2025, 9:03pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/another-plant-based-product-hersheys-candy-bars/1025469/12 "2025-12-06T21:03:58Z")

</div>

And there’s the rub.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Skywatcher](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/skywatcher/32/254_2.png) [@Skywatcher](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Skywatcher)\
**Post date:** [December 6, 2025, 9:04pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/another-plant-based-product-hersheys-candy-bars/1025469/13 "2025-12-06T21:04:08Z")

</div>

> [@Dewey\_Finn](#):
>
> just lists “sugar” as the first ingredient; not specifying the type of sugar.

Which is why our vegan friend eschews anything that doesn’t contain substitutes, such as Stevia.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Chronos](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/chronos/32/134_2.png) [@Chronos](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Chronos)\
**Post date:** [December 6, 2025, 9:05pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/another-plant-based-product-hersheys-candy-bars/1025469/14 "2025-12-06T21:05:52Z")

</div>

Of course, pure sucrose and HFCS are both plant-based, too. Your friend might have other reasons for eschewing them, but it’s not inherently because they’ve vegan.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Beckdawrek](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/beckdawrek/32/3647_2.png) [@Beckdawrek](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Beckdawrek)\
**Post date:** [December 6, 2025, 9:07pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/another-plant-based-product-hersheys-candy-bars/1025469/15 "2025-12-06T21:07:49Z")

</div>

Well she’s barking down the wrong aisle.

Candy aisle is the defacto “sugar” aisle.

Move on down to that one aisle(or partial) with the crappy diabetic(?) sugar free alternative candies.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Skywatcher](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/skywatcher/32/254_2.png) [@Skywatcher](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Skywatcher)\
**Post date:** [December 6, 2025, 9:08pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/another-plant-based-product-hersheys-candy-bars/1025469/16 "2025-12-06T21:08:49Z")

</div>

> [@Chronos](#):
>
> Of course, pure sucrose and HFCS are both plant-based, too.

Which chocolate bars contain pure sucrose or HFCS? Which is what that “anything” referred to.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Chronos](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/chronos/32/134_2.png) [@Chronos](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Chronos)\
**Post date:** [December 6, 2025, 9:26pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/another-plant-based-product-hersheys-candy-bars/1025469/17 "2025-12-06T21:26:12Z")

</div>

The ones that list “sugar” in the ingredients contain pure sucrose, and the ones that list “high fructose corn syrup” in the ingredients contain HFCS. All that “refining” in refined sugar, that people complain so much about, just means purifying.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![susan](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/susan/32/17537_2.png) [@susan](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/susan)\
**Post date:** [December 6, 2025, 9:36pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/another-plant-based-product-hersheys-candy-bars/1025469/18 "2025-12-06T21:36:17Z")

</div>

I super-duper don’t care for the taste of Lily’s, but fortunately for me, I’m omnivorous.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Just\_Asking\_Questions](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/j/ba9def/32.png) [@Just\_Asking\_Questions](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Just_Asking_Questions)\
**Post date:** [December 6, 2025, 9:47pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/another-plant-based-product-hersheys-candy-bars/1025469/19 "2025-12-06T21:47:46Z")

</div>

I saw a coffee shop that bragged “plant based!”. Really, now?

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Chronos](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/chronos/32/134_2.png) [@Chronos](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Chronos)\
**Post date:** [December 6, 2025, 9:49pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/another-plant-based-product-hersheys-candy-bars/1025469/20 "2025-12-06T21:49:56Z")

</div>

Most coffee shops sell a lot more than coffee. In particular, their baked goods might well include egg, dairy, or even meat ingredients.

[Next page](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/another-plant-based-product-hersheys-candy-bars/1025469.md?page=2)
