# Are potato chips Kosher for Passover?

**URL:** <https://boards.straightdope.com/t/are-potato-chips-kosher-for-passover/166376>\
**Category:** Factual Questions\
**Created:** [April 4, 2003, 3:11am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/are-potato-chips-kosher-for-passover/166376 "2003-04-04T03:11:31Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 4\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![DaveRaver](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/daveraver/32/1078_2.png) [@DaveRaver](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/DaveRaver)\
**Post date:** [April 4, 2003, 3:11am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/are-potato-chips-kosher-for-passover/166376/1 "2003-04-04T03:11:31Z")

</div>

Are potato chips Kosher for Passover? Explain why or why not.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![cmkeller](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/cmkeller/32/118_2.png) [@cmkeller](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/cmkeller)\
**Post date:** [April 4, 2003, 4:04am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/are-potato-chips-kosher-for-passover/166376/2 "2003-04-04T04:04:31Z")

</div>

There are brands of potato chips that are Kosher for Passover. Some brands are not, the most likely three reasons being that they might have been fried in corn oil (forbidden on Passover because corn is in a category of foods called _kitniyos_), they might have had flour or some other starch applied to them during the packaging process to keep them from sticking to one another, or they may have been made or processed on equipment that was also used to process foods that are in and of themselves not Kosher for Passover.

Potato chips that are marked Kosher for Passover are certified to have none of these issues…simple potato fried in non-corn oil, processed on machines that make nothing that is not Kosher for Passover.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Captain\_Amazing](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/c/6de8d8/32.png) [@Captain\_Amazing](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Captain_Amazing)\
**Post date:** [April 4, 2003, 4:20am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/are-potato-chips-kosher-for-passover/166376/3 "2003-04-04T04:20:34Z")

</div>

Unless you’re Sephardic. Then the corn oil’s ok.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Ike\_Witt](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/ike_witt/32/283_2.png) [@Ike\_Witt](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Ike_Witt)\
**Post date:** [April 4, 2003, 5:04am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/are-potato-chips-kosher-for-passover/166376/4 "2003-04-04T05:04:48Z")

</div>

Here is an [article](http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/KnowThyBeans/) that expands on both what **cmkeller** and **Captain Amazing** already said.
