# Are there any vegan foods that aren't kosher?

**URL:** <https://boards.straightdope.com/t/are-there-any-vegan-foods-that-arent-kosher/575415>\
**Category:** Factual Questions\
**Created:** [March 21, 2011, 12:13am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/are-there-any-vegan-foods-that-arent-kosher/575415 "2011-03-21T00:13:15Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 2\
**Page:** 2

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![DocCathode](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/doccathode/32/18773_2.png) [@DocCathode](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/DocCathode)\
**Post date:** [March 24, 2011, 9:46pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/are-there-any-vegan-foods-that-arent-kosher/575415/21 "2011-03-24T21:46:43Z")

</div>

Very educational thread.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Tastes\_of\_Chocolate](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/tastes_of_chocolate/32/3232_2.png) [@Tastes\_of\_Chocolate](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Tastes_of_Chocolate)\
**Post date:** [March 25, 2011, 3:43pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/are-there-any-vegan-foods-that-arent-kosher/575415/22 "2011-03-25T15:43:13Z")

</div>

Are figs kosher or vegan?  
I’ve read about the pollination of figs, and it involves a wasp laying eggs inside the flower, which is inside the fig. It would seem that means that figs should all have as least some insect content, at least an egg.  
[Pollinators of fig tress](http://www.figweb.org/Interaction/Who_pollinates_fig_trees/index.htm)  
[How fig trees are pollinated](http://www.figweb.org/Interaction/How_do_fig_wasps_pollinate/index.htm)

[Previous page](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/are-there-any-vegan-foods-that-arent-kosher/575415.md?page=1)
