# Are these guys a scam?

**URL:** <https://boards.straightdope.com/t/are-these-guys-a-scam/122971>\
**Category:** Factual Questions\
**Created:** [August 8, 2002, 3:37pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/are-these-guys-a-scam/122971 "2002-08-08T15:37:56Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 7\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Earthworm\_Jim](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/e/f07891/32.png) [@Earthworm\_Jim](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Earthworm_Jim)\
**Post date:** [August 8, 2002, 3:37pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/are-these-guys-a-scam/122971/1 "2002-08-08T15:37:56Z")

</div>

Recently, the website [http://www.online-camera-shop.com](http://www.online-camera-shop.com) was brought up. It seems a buddy of mine had attempted to order a camera off this site at a ridiculously low price. They have no phone number or address listed on their site (although they’ve recently added a blurb stating they’re in Boston).

He finally managed to get in touch with a third party who handled some financial account for these guys, who was trying to verify the credit card transaction. The third-party guy said they were a brand new account, and he was not authorized to give out any of their contact information. However, he could tell us where the company was located (roughly): Latvia. Sounds like a scam to me.

Some internet searches have not turned anything up about these guys, so I turn to the teeming millions:

Anyone heard of [www.online-camera-shop.com](http://www.online-camera-shop.com) before? If so, are they on the level, or are they a scam?

Thanks!

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![GaryM](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/garym/32/241_2.png) [@GaryM](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/GaryM)\
**Post date:** [August 8, 2002, 3:48pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/are-these-guys-a-scam/122971/2 "2002-08-08T15:48:10Z")

</div>

Their prices on Nikons look about the same as known reputable on line retailers.

If their prices are too low, you may be dealing with grey market cameras. Although prices are usually lower that authorized imports, repairs are very difficult to obtain.

The motto on the opening page “Your ship in digital sea” seems to be written by someone whose first language is not english. Not that there’s anything wrong with that! But it might add credence to your information that they may be non-USA based.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Telemark](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/telemark/32/372_2.png) [@Telemark](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Telemark)\
**Post date:** [August 8, 2002, 3:48pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/are-these-guys-a-scam/122971/3 "2002-08-08T15:48:37Z")

</div>

Looks like a scam to me. Those prices don’t make any sense, for example an Olympus C-720 for less than a C-700 (which is discontinued and costs much less).

Either they are selling grey market items or you will never see your camera. Stay far away.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Joey\_P](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/j/919ad9/32.png) [@Joey\_P](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Joey_P)\
**Post date:** [August 8, 2002, 3:49pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/are-these-guys-a-scam/122971/4 "2002-08-08T15:49:52Z")

</div>

Here, try this:  
Registrant:  
Online Camera Shop  
po box 971  
williston, FL 32696  
US

Domain Name: [ONLINE-CAMERA-SHOP.COM](http://ONLINE-CAMERA-SHOP.COM)

Administrative Contact:  
Crane, Jason Follin [fewebuq@realtyagent.com](mailto:fewebuq@realtyagent.com)  
po box 971  
williston, FL 32696  
US  
7144966462

Technical Contact:  
DNS Administrator, HyperMart [pwebmaster@hypermart.net](mailto:pwebmaster@hypermart.net)  
999 Third Ave  
Seattle, WA 98104  
US  
206-447-1595  
Fax: 206-447-1625

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Mangetout](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/mangetout/32/19_2.png) [@Mangetout](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Mangetout)\
**Post date:** [August 8, 2002, 3:58pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/are-these-guys-a-scam/122971/5 "2002-08-08T15:58:22Z")

</div>

[Swhois](http://www.swhois.net/)comes up with this:

> [@](#):
>
> Registrant:  
> Online Camera Shop  
> po box 971  
> williston, FL 32696  
> US
> 
> Domain Name: [ONLINE-CAMERA-SHOP.COM](http://ONLINE-CAMERA-SHOP.COM)
> 
> Administrative Contact:  
> Crane, Jason Follin [fewebuq@realtyagent.com](mailto:fewebuq@realtyagent.com)  
> po box 971  
> williston, FL 32696  
> US  
> 7144966462
> 
> Technical Contact:  
> DNS Administrator, HyperMart [pwebmaster@hypermart.net](mailto:pwebmaster@hypermart.net)  
> 999 Third Ave  
> Seattle, WA 98104  
> US  
> 206-447-1595  
> Fax: 206-447-1625

I share your suspicion about the site though, I’m not entirely sure what it is, but something just doesn’t look right (could just be bad page design though, I suppose).

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![evilhanz](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/e/ba8739/32.png) [@evilhanz](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/evilhanz)\
**Post date:** [August 8, 2002, 4:19pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/are-these-guys-a-scam/122971/6 "2002-08-08T16:19:07Z")

</div>

I’ve never heard of them. You’re rolling the dice when you deal with these no-name suppliers. That fact that they don’t have oh… I don’t know … a _phone number_ or an _address_ should have been a big clue that it’s a scam. Reputable suppliers have nothing to hide. The ridiculously low prices should have clued him in that if he did get the camera, it was probably stolen.

Your friend just learded an expensive, and probably well-deserved lesson. Quality equipment is worth good money. Try [photo.net](http://photo.net) for a short list of honest dealers. Also have your friend read their [Where to Buy](http://www.photo.net/equipment/where-to-buy) page.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![gazpacho](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/g/6f9a4e/32.png) [@gazpacho](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/gazpacho)\
**Post date:** [August 8, 2002, 4:53pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/are-these-guys-a-scam/122971/7 "2002-08-08T16:53:56Z")

</div>

Call your credit card company get the charges reversed. Then the lesson becomes a not so expensive one.
