# Banner ads for reghelper.com - I think this is malware

**URL:** <https://boards.straightdope.com/t/banner-ads-for-reghelper-com-i-think-this-is-malware/528418>\
**Category:** About This Message Board\
**Created:** [February 10, 2010, 1:50pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/banner-ads-for-reghelper-com-i-think-this-is-malware/528418 "2010-02-10T13:50:33Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 4\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Mangetout](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/mangetout/32/19_2.png) [@Mangetout](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Mangetout)\
**Post date:** [February 10, 2010, 1:50pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/banner-ads-for-reghelper-com-i-think-this-is-malware/528418/1 "2010-02-10T13:50:33Z")

</div>

I’ve been seeing banner ads for [reghelper.com](http://reghelper.com).

I thought Google didn’t permit the advertisement of malware, but searches on the topic do seem to indicate that registry helper is a bad one.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Arnold\_Winkelried](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/a/3d9bf3/32.png) [@Arnold\_Winkelried](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Arnold_Winkelried)\
**Post date:** [February 10, 2010, 2:31pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/banner-ads-for-reghelper-com-i-think-this-is-malware/528418/2 "2010-02-10T14:31:40Z")

</div>

Did you report it to Google?

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![TubaDiva](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/tubadiva/32/507_2.png) [@TubaDiva](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/TubaDiva)\
**Post date:** [February 10, 2010, 2:47pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/banner-ads-for-reghelper-com-i-think-this-is-malware/528418/3 "2010-02-10T14:47:37Z")

</div>

Symantec says “rogue software.”

> **[Report for reghelper.com | Norton Safe Web](https://safeweb.norton.com/report/show?url=reghelper.com)**
>
> Norton Safe Web has analyzed reghelper.com for safety and security problems. Click now to view Norton Safeweb's rating for reghelper.com

McAfee says “In our tests, we found downloads on this site that some people consider adware, spyware or other potentially unwanted programs.”

[http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/reghelper.com/downloads/](http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/reghelper.com/downloads/)

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Mangetout](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/mangetout/32/19_2.png) [@Mangetout](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Mangetout)\
**Post date:** [February 12, 2010, 9:29am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/banner-ads-for-reghelper-com-i-think-this-is-malware/528418/4 "2010-02-12T09:29:38Z")

</div>

> [@Arnold\_Winkelried](#):
>
> Did you report it to Google?

I didn’t - I copied the link from the ad, but it got overwritten by something else in my clipboard - and now I can’t find an instance of the ad to report it. Maybe that means Google has already stamped it out.
