# Canadians want to give me money! (spam)

**URL:** <https://boards.straightdope.com/t/canadians-want-to-give-me-money-spam/458075>\
**Category:** Miscellaneous and Personal Stuff I Must Share\
**Created:** [July 29, 2008, 1:18pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/canadians-want-to-give-me-money-spam/458075 "2008-07-29T13:18:48Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 10\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Anaamika](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/a/5f9b8f/32.png) [@Anaamika](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Anaamika)\
**Post date:** [July 29, 2008, 1:18pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/canadians-want-to-give-me-money-spam/458075/1 "2008-07-29T13:18:48Z")

</div>

Never got this one before:

> [@](#):
>
> Congratulations You Have US$820,000.00  
> InboxX
> 
> From: The Canada National Lottery to canadialoboard
> 
> FROM THE DESK OF PROMOTIONAL MANAGER  
> CANADIAN LOTTERY ONLINE LUCKY PROGRAM  
> (LOTTO SUPER 8)  
> YOU HAVE WON US$820,000.00 !
> 
> Dear Winner No2
> 
> Congratulations! Your email address has won US$820,000.00 Dollars in the Canadian Lottery Online Lucky Program Lotto Super 8 held on Saturday 12th day of july 2008 to promote and support South African 2010 FIFA World Cup (the first World C up event on African soil) co-sponsored by the Canadian Government. Your email address drew the winning numbers 3 4 10 22 32 46 bonus number 29, which you subsequently won the lottery in the 2nd category. Also in your winning package in this category, you are entitled to a first class round trip air ticket to and fro South Africa, and one-month hotel reservation in one of the five star hotels, during the month of the world cup soccer tournament in South Africa by 2010.
> 
> To claim your winning prize please contact our agent.
> 
> (James Khaiya)  
> Address: #66 Ilovo Santon Street.  
> Johannesburg South Africa.  
> Telefax: +27-72 810 6132.  
> Emails: [canadaclaimagent@gmail.com](mailto:canadaclaimagent@gmail.com)
> 
> (1) Ticket No: 6460DGH\< /DIV\>  
> (2) Serial No: 0909AOB09  
> (3) Batch No: 2GH267XZZ1-5-42  
> (4) Reference No: 9527BCV-J6-0-0-8  
> (5) Winning No:3 4 10 22 32 46 Bonus Number 29
> 
> This promotion aimed at internet globalization before the year 2010, thereby empowering internet literacy against monopoly in which email addresses were used, therefore you do not need to buy ticket to enter for it.
> 
> Best wishes,
> 
> Mrs. Karem Gerreth.  
> Promotional Manager  
> CLOLP Lotto Super 8  
> 4120 Yonge Street  
> Suite 420 Toronto  
> ON M2P 288 Canada  
> Tel/fax: +1 205 727 9164.
> 
> NOTE: To confirm that your email address drew the winning number s for 12th july 2008 draw, visit: [http://www.canada.com/findit/lotteries/results.aspx?id=8](http://www.canada.com/findit/lotteries/results.aspx?id=8)  
> Confirm under Super 8.
> 
> In 5 Schritten zur eigenen Homepage. Jetzt Domain sichern und gestalten! Nur 3,99 EUR/Monat! [http://www.maildomain.web.de/?mc=021114](http://www.maildomain.web.de/?mc=021114)

Correct me if I’m wrong, but don’t I kind of have to enter first? Oh, no, wait, “This promotion aimed at internet globalization before the year 2010, thereby empowering internet literacy against monopoly in which email addresses were used, therefore you do not need to buy ticket to enter for it.”  
\*hits “mark as spam” button.

Just wanted to share it with you guys since it’s new to me!

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Giles](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/giles/32/60_2.png) [@Giles](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Giles)\
**Post date:** [July 29, 2008, 1:22pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/canadians-want-to-give-me-money-spam/458075/2 "2008-07-29T13:22:59Z")

</div>

Well, congratulations! Though it does seem odd that the Canadian Lottery has office in South Africa. Perhaps this is part of the “internet globalization”.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Sunspace](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/sunspace/32/1250_2.png) [@Sunspace](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Sunspace)\
**Post date:** [July 29, 2008, 1:24pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/canadians-want-to-give-me-money-spam/458075/3 "2008-07-29T13:24:49Z")

</div>

205 is not a Toronto area code. Heck, it’s not even a [Canadian](http://www.cnac.ca/npa_codes/npa_map.htm) area code.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Attack\_from\_the\_3rd\_dimension](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/a/b38774/32.png) [@Attack\_from\_the\_3rd\_dimension](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Attack_from_the_3rd_dimension)\
**Post date:** [July 29, 2008, 1:50pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/canadians-want-to-give-me-money-spam/458075/4 "2008-07-29T13:50:29Z")

</div>

Dammit. My email is entering contests again. I just finished sorting out the trouble caused by my homepage taking off to Vegas.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Gorsnak](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/gorsnak/32/7587_2.png) [@Gorsnak](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Gorsnak)\
**Post date:** [July 29, 2008, 2:06pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/canadians-want-to-give-me-money-spam/458075/5 "2008-07-29T14:06:40Z")

</div>

Why are there only 7 winning numbers in the Lotto Super 8? If I didn’t know better I’d think this might be some sort of scam.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Mahna\_Mahna](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/m/e47c2d/32.png) [@Mahna\_Mahna](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Mahna_Mahna)\
**Post date:** [July 29, 2008, 2:11pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/canadians-want-to-give-me-money-spam/458075/6 "2008-07-29T14:11:33Z")

</div>

Gosh, it just warms my heart to see that the Canadian Government is using lottery funds to finance soccer tournaments in South Africa.

Hopefully they’ll use the proceeds from the next one to fund pensions for aging scammers in Nigeria. It’s a tragedy that these fellows must slave away in internet cafes, bravely trying to type with arthritic fingers and move their mouse steadily despite tremors from Parkinson’s.

Things like this make me proud to be a Canadian. Sniff.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Canadjun](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/c/76d3ee/32.png) [@Canadjun](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Canadjun)\
**Post date:** [July 29, 2008, 11:54pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/canadians-want-to-give-me-money-spam/458075/7 "2008-07-29T23:54:56Z")

</div>

[QUOTE=Sunspace]  
205 is not a Toronto area code. Heck, it’s not even a [Canadian](http://www.cnac.ca/npa_codes/npa_map.htm) area code.  
[/QUOTE]

and **M2P 288** is not a Canadian postal code.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Sunspace](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/sunspace/32/1250_2.png) [@Sunspace](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Sunspace)\
**Post date:** [July 30, 2008, 12:13am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/canadians-want-to-give-me-money-spam/458075/8 "2008-07-30T00:13:51Z")

</div>

[QUOTE=Canadjun]  
and **M2P 288** is not a Canadian postal code.  
[/QUOTE]  
4120 Yonge Street does exist, though; it’s one of those tony office buildings on the west side of Yonge just north of the York Mills subway station. The offices of the Ontario Lottery and Gaming Corporation are at Suite 420 in that building. And the postal code is M2P 2 **B** 8. So the scammers probably just copied the address of the lottery corporation out of the [OLGC website](http://www.olg.ca/contact.jsp?ref=home_menu) and them mistyped it to fool the marks into thinking that the scammers are stupid.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Kythereia](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/k/e8c25b/32.png) [@Kythereia](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Kythereia)\
**Post date:** [July 30, 2008, 12:19am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/canadians-want-to-give-me-money-spam/458075/9 "2008-07-30T00:19:07Z")

</div>

Hey, while we’re at it, I’ve got some wonderful parkland in Toronto I’d like to sell you…

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Captain\_Amazing](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/c/6de8d8/32.png) [@Captain\_Amazing](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Captain_Amazing)\
**Post date:** [July 30, 2008, 1:00am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/canadians-want-to-give-me-money-spam/458075/10 "2008-07-30T01:00:17Z")

</div>

[QUOTE=Sunspace]  
205 is not a Toronto area code. Heck, it’s not even a [Canadian](http://www.cnac.ca/npa_codes/npa_map.htm) area code.  
[/QUOTE]

It’s actually an area code in Alabama.
