# Chinese Spam

**URL:** <https://boards.straightdope.com/t/chinese-spam/564842>\
**Category:** Miscellaneous and Personal Stuff I Must Share\
**Created:** [December 20, 2010, 3:55pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/chinese-spam/564842 "2010-12-20T15:55:21Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 4\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![aruvqan](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/aruvqan/32/2891_2.png) [@aruvqan](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/aruvqan)\
**Post date:** [December 20, 2010, 3:55pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/chinese-spam/564842/1 "2010-12-20T15:55:21Z")

</div>

Woot! Some enterprising scammer is hopping on the new Chinese commercialism and spammed me. It is a refreshing change from Nigerians!

> [@](#):
>
> Hello,
> 
> I am Mr.Siong Ng Thian. I represent Mr. Zhang Chunjiang, Vice Chairman and an executive director of China Mobile Limited, in Hong Kong. I have a very sensitive and confidential brief from this top (executive) to ask for your partnership in re-profiling funds over Twelve point Five Million United States dollars. I will give the details, but in summary, the funds are coming via Bank of East Asia Malaysia.
> 
> Please write me back via my private email: siongngthn099 AT [gmail.com](http://gmail.com)
> 
> http:// ceoworld.biz/ceo /2009/12/28/ china-mobile-vice-chairman-zhang-chunjiang-under-investigation

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![EvilTOJ](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/e/ee59a6/32.png) [@EvilTOJ](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/EvilTOJ)\
**Post date:** [December 22, 2010, 7:46am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/chinese-spam/564842/2 "2010-12-22T07:46:39Z")

</div>

It sounds legit, because legitimate business-men use a gmail account.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![aruvqan](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/aruvqan/32/2891_2.png) [@aruvqan](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/aruvqan)\
**Post date:** [December 22, 2010, 10:33am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/chinese-spam/564842/3 "2010-12-22T10:33:52Z")

</div>

Usually in legit email the senders email matches the send to address.

But everything is spelled right, and it is reasonably grammatically correct.

I always thought that if you were going to try and scam someone you should try and spellcheck, and get the grammer right. It seems only polite =)

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![CalMeacham](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/calmeacham/32/35_2.png) [@CalMeacham](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/CalMeacham)\
**Post date:** [December 22, 2010, 12:24pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/chinese-spam/564842/4 "2010-12-22T12:24:27Z")

</div>

Kung Pao Spam?

Spam lo Mein?

Sweet and Sour Spam?

Sesame Seed Spam?

Spam Rangoon?
