# Do communion wafers "melt" in your mouth"?

**URL:** <https://boards.straightdope.com/t/do-communion-wafers-melt-in-your-mouth/604099>\
**Category:** Factual Questions\
**Created:** [November 26, 2011, 12:56am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/do-communion-wafers-melt-in-your-mouth/604099 "2011-11-26T00:56:54Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 2\
**Page:** 4

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![jayjay](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/jayjay/32/6765_2.png) [@jayjay](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/jayjay)\
**Post date:** [November 30, 2011, 4:51pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/do-communion-wafers-melt-in-your-mouth/604099/61 "2011-11-30T16:51:36Z")

</div>

> [@Leo\_Bloom](#):
>
> Are there any other Chuch restrictions on the manufacture of hosts?

Not that I know of, but I’m no seminarian, so my knowledge is almost certainly incomplete. I only know it must be made of wheat flour because of the problems a few years ago with a girl who was gluten-intolerant…the diocese wouldn’t approve gluten-free host because of the “only wheat flour” rule.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Aeris](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/a/a183cd/32.png) [@Aeris](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Aeris)\
**Post date:** [November 30, 2011, 5:34pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/do-communion-wafers-melt-in-your-mouth/604099/62 "2011-11-30T17:34:00Z")

</div>

> [@jayjay](#):
>
> By canon law, the host has to be made of wheat flour, not rice.

Rice. Wheat. They are still delicious. 😃

[Previous page](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/do-communion-wafers-melt-in-your-mouth/604099.md?page=3)
