# Ever bought software at http://softwarebackups.org/?

**URL:** <https://boards.straightdope.com/t/ever-bought-software-at-http-softwarebackups-org/430024>\
**Category:** Factual Questions\
**Created:** [December 14, 2007, 7:13pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/ever-bought-software-at-http-softwarebackups-org/430024 "2007-12-14T19:13:25Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 2\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![BarnOwl](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/b/e95f7d/32.png) [@BarnOwl](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/BarnOwl)\
**Post date:** [December 14, 2007, 7:13pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/ever-bought-software-at-http-softwarebackups-org/430024/1 "2007-12-14T19:13:25Z")

</div>

According to this site, I can download Adobe Photoshop Elements 6 for $27.

And they claim to offer all kinds of software downloads for peanuts.

Anyone know for sure if they’re for real?

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Grave](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/g/71c47a/32.png) [@Grave](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Grave)\
**Post date:** [December 14, 2007, 7:29pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/ever-bought-software-at-http-softwarebackups-org/430024/2 "2007-12-14T19:29:45Z")

</div>

All the sites I have first person knowledge of that look like this are simply selling pirated software. Sorry - if it seems to good to be true, it usually is.

Cite - [http://www.siteadvisor.be/sites/softwarebackups.org/summary/](http://www.siteadvisor.be/sites/softwarebackups.org/summary/)
