# Firefox browser attack - screenshot

**URL:** https://boards.straightdope.com/t/firefox-browser-attack-screenshot/741426
**Category:** Miscellaneous and Personal Stuff I Must Share
**Created:** [December 26, 2015, 9:30pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/firefox-browser-attack-screenshot/741426 "2015-12-26T21:30:25Z")
**Posts on this page:** 6
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

### Author: ![aceplace57](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/aceplace57/32/3500_2.png) [@aceplace57](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/aceplace57)
#### Post date: [December 26, 2015, 9:30pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/firefox-browser-attack-screenshot/741426/1 "2015-12-26T21:30:25Z")

</div>

I’ve seen this attack several times in the past couple months. Tries to open a Firefox patch that I always cancel. The URL isn’t from Mozilia. This time I captured my screen. Seems to be coming from ads on news sites like NY Daily News.

I uploaded the screen capture after editing out my IP

> **[ImageBam](https://www.imagebam.com/image/85ecb6454616918)**
>
> Image Hosting, Image Upload, Picture Hosting

scary stuff! Watch out for these attacks and stay safe! These attacks are getting more and more clever.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

### Author: ![Tim\_T-Bonham.net](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/t/46a35a/32.png) [@Tim\_T-Bonham.net](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Tim_T-Bonham.net)
#### Post date: [December 27, 2015, 2:58am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/firefox-browser-attack-screenshot/741426/2 "2015-12-27T02:58:47Z")

</div>

> [@aceplace57](#):
>
> I’ve seen this attack several times in the past couple months. Tries to open a Firefox patch that I always cancel. The URL isn’t from Mozilia. This time I captured my screen. Seems to be coming from ads on news sites like NY Daily News.

Lots of these attempted attacks come from ads.  
Yet another reason to have Adblocker installed!

---

<div class="post-metadata">

### Author: ![jz78817](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/jz78817/32/1028_2.png) [@jz78817](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/jz78817)
#### Post date: [December 27, 2015, 3:46am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/firefox-browser-attack-screenshot/741426/3 "2015-12-27T03:46:06Z")

</div>

> [@aceplace57](#):
>
> I’ve seen this attack several times in the past couple months. Tries to open a Firefox patch that I always cancel. The URL isn’t from Mozilia. This time I captured my screen. Seems to be coming from ads on news sites like NY Daily News.
> 
> I uploaded the screen capture after editing out my IP  
> [ImageBam](http://www.imagebam.com/image/85ecb6454616918)
> 
> scary stuff! Watch out for these attacks and stay safe! These attacks are getting more and more clever.

yeah, and when I clicked your link I got a bunch of bullshit popups. what the fuck are you trying to do here?

---

<div class="post-metadata">

### Author: ![aceplace57](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/aceplace57/32/3500_2.png) [@aceplace57](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/aceplace57)
#### Post date: [December 27, 2015, 5:21am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/firefox-browser-attack-screenshot/741426/4 "2015-12-27T05:21:40Z")

</div>

I’ve never gotten any popups from imagebam But Firefox blocks most of them anyhow.

Used imagebam for over 7 years for temporary links to photos. They don’t require a login like Photobucket. Upload the photo, get the link and paste in my text post. I use PB for more permanent pic links.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

### Author: ![buddha\_david](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/b/ee7513/32.png) [@buddha\_david](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/buddha_david)
#### Post date: [December 27, 2015, 6:16am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/firefox-browser-attack-screenshot/741426/5 "2015-12-27T06:16:54Z")

</div>

> [@aceplace57](#):
>
> I uploaded the screen capture after editing out my IP  
> [ImageBam](http://www.imagebam.com/image/85ecb6454616918)

**“Your network segment is vulnerable to malware injections.”**

Sounds dirty! 🙂

---

<div class="post-metadata">

### Author: ![RealityChuck](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/realitychuck/32/195_2.png) [@RealityChuck](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/RealityChuck)
#### Post date: [December 27, 2015, 1:15pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/firefox-browser-attack-screenshot/741426/6 "2015-12-27T13:15:31Z")

</div>

Clicking on the link will download and install malware. Best to use Malwarebytes to scan your computer just in case.
