# HELP me with a possible ID problem.

**URL:** <https://boards.straightdope.com/t/help-me-with-a-possible-id-problem/435778>\
**Category:** Factual Questions\
**Created:** [January 31, 2008, 10:23pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/help-me-with-a-possible-id-problem/435778 "2008-01-31T22:23:39Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 5\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Find\_Friends](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/f/c37758/32.png) [@Find\_Friends](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Find_Friends)\
**Post date:** [January 31, 2008, 10:23pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/help-me-with-a-possible-id-problem/435778/1 "2008-01-31T22:23:39Z")

</div>

Here is a message I have just today received in the mail:

from (“PayPal” \<accounts@paypal.us\>)

\>\>\> We recently noticed one or more attempts to log in to your PayPal account from a foreign IP address.

If you recently accessed your account while traveling, the unusual log in attempts may have been initiated by you. However if you are the rightful holder of the account,click on the link below to log into the account and follow the instructions.

\>\>\> " …ttps://www.paypal.com/us/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=\_login-run… "

If you choose not to complete the request, you give us no choice but to suspend your account temporary.

* * *

The upsetting thing here is that I DON’T HAVE an account with them. I’m leery that someone may have found Yahoo Mail with my acct. still open, or otherwise was able to backtrack on a shared PC…

I am then warned that if I am not the holder of the account, I have not only violated their policy but also may be in violation of law at various levels of jurisdiction.

PayPal points out that they work in fulll cooperation with Law enforcement. they will provide info so that perps “are prosecuted to the full extent of the law.”

Then, apparently along the possibility that I did nothing wrong:

“Thanks for your patience as we work together to protect your account.”

(from: PayPal account Review Department.)

They then inform me that I should not reply to the e-mail itself, since their mailbox is not monitored.

* * *

The only immediate threat is that they will close my(!) account if I “do not complete the request.” Also, it takes at leat 72 hours to complete an investigation and I should respond by within that time.

At first, I was leery about even opening the message, fearing that there would be a virus attached.

Should I go to the link provided? I checked outside of my mail account with a search and it certainly seems to be PayPal.  
And do I need an attorney just in case?

* * *

TBJ

I’ve just noticed that I was supposes to respond to an URL starting with http_ **S** _ – I thought only Yahoo Mail did that, but I suppose it is security for other sites. (?)

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![friedo](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/f/8edcca/32.png) [@friedo](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/friedo)\
**Post date:** [January 31, 2008, 10:31pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/help-me-with-a-possible-id-problem/435778/2 "2008-01-31T22:31:04Z")

</div>

Dude, it’s just a phising scam. Ignore it.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Scarlett67](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/scarlett67/32/7387_2.png) [@Scarlett67](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Scarlett67)\
**Post date:** [January 31, 2008, 10:31pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/help-me-with-a-possible-id-problem/435778/3 "2008-01-31T22:31:04Z")

</div>

It’s a phishing attempt. Why would PayPal contact you if you don’t have an account with them?

If my spam folder reflected reality, I’d have accounts with about 43 banks, most of which are nowhere near me, all in danger of being compromised.

NEVER click on a link in such an e-mail. The stuff about law enforcement is just there to scare you into following instructions.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![beowulff](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/beowulff/32/542_2.png) [@beowulff](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/beowulff)\
**Post date:** [January 31, 2008, 10:32pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/help-me-with-a-possible-id-problem/435778/4 "2008-01-31T22:32:53Z")

</div>

This is the oldest phishing scam on the books. Just ignore it, or report it to PayPal as abuse.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Find\_Friends](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/f/c37758/32.png) [@Find\_Friends](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Find_Friends)\
**Post date:** [January 31, 2008, 10:54pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/help-me-with-a-possible-id-problem/435778/5 "2008-01-31T22:54:44Z")

</div>

[QUOTE=Scarlett67]

NEVER click on a link in such an e-mail. The stuff about law enforcement is just there to scare you into following instructions.  
[/QUOTE]  
I thought it might be a form of phishing, and the threat, hedged as it was, _ **was** _ suspicious.

* * *

Thanks to beowulff and friedo for responding as well. 🙂

* * *

TBJ
