# How did something from my blog get listed on brokencontrollers.com??

**URL:** <https://boards.straightdope.com/t/how-did-something-from-my-blog-get-listed-on-brokencontrollers-com/637491>\
**Category:** Factual Questions\
**Created:** [October 12, 2012, 6:23am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/how-did-something-from-my-blog-get-listed-on-brokencontrollers-com/637491 "2012-10-12T06:23:05Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 4\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Anise](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/anise/32/21721_2.png) [@Anise](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Anise)\
**Post date:** [October 12, 2012, 6:23am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/how-did-something-from-my-blog-get-listed-on-brokencontrollers-com/637491/1 "2012-10-12T06:23:05Z")

</div>

Hi all,

So I have a WP blog, and last night, well, I was looking it up on Google to see what kind of listings it has. (Oh, come on. You’ve done that too.😉 Anyway, I found a link to

[this site. And that’s my graphic from the blog.](http://brokencontrollers.com/the-first-perry-snotter-graphic-death-train-the-novel-amp-harry-t43701381.php)  
Then there was this text:

> [@](#):
>
> Post URL: The First Perry Snotter Graphic! | Death Train: The Novel & Harry …  
> Reply With Quote  
> File: Download  
> Notes: Ares is required to download this file.  
> Filename: The First Perry Snotter Graphic! | Death Train: The Novel & Harry …  
> Downloaded: 4 Times  
> Added: Sat Oct 06, 12 12:20 AM  
> File ID: 43701381  
> Status: Available

Um… does anyone have any idea how this might have happened and what it might signify? I mean, I’m more than happy to have my content linked on there-- maybe it’ll bring more people to the blog. But what’s the point of anyone doing this?

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Anise](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/anise/32/21721_2.png) [@Anise](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Anise)\
**Post date:** [October 12, 2012, 6:30am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/how-did-something-from-my-blog-get-listed-on-brokencontrollers-com/637491/2 "2012-10-12T06:30:04Z")

</div>

Actually, after posting this, I heard some weird things about that site. Somebody supposedly was able to get theirs removed, so that might be a good idea.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Crazyhorse](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/crazyhorse/32/31_2.png) [@Crazyhorse](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Crazyhorse)\
**Post date:** [October 12, 2012, 7:01am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/how-did-something-from-my-blog-get-listed-on-brokencontrollers-com/637491/3 "2012-10-12T07:01:19Z")

</div>

It looks like a scraper site. They republish content from other sites to get clicks from google searches (like the one you did) and scam ad revenue from your content. I don’t know for sure that is the case and you didn’t post a link to your original blog to compare but that’s what it sounds like.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Blakeyrat](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/b/ecd19e/32.png) [@Blakeyrat](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Blakeyrat)\
**Post date:** [October 12, 2012, 5:48pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/how-did-something-from-my-blog-get-listed-on-brokencontrollers-com/637491/4 "2012-10-12T17:48:52Z")

</div>

They’re trying to trick Google and other search engines into thinking either your site moved URLs, or that their site and your site are identical. If they succeed, they can increase their Google siterank and get more hits from searchers.

It’s scummy, and illegal. You can [report the stolen content to Google](https://www.google.com/webmasters/tools/dmca-notice?pli=1&), I’m not sure if Bing and other search engines have a way of doing it. It’s also a pain in the ass.
