# How the F\*&%K are websites storing autofill info after I delete everything? Chrome.

**URL:** <https://boards.straightdope.com/t/how-the-f-k-are-websites-storing-autofill-info-after-i-delete-everything-chrome/662138>\
**Category:** Factual Questions\
**Created:** [June 28, 2013, 4:35pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/how-the-f-k-are-websites-storing-autofill-info-after-i-delete-everything-chrome/662138 "2013-06-28T16:35:33Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 5\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Quintas](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/q/48db29/32.png) [@Quintas](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Quintas)\
**Post date:** [June 28, 2013, 4:35pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/how-the-f-k-are-websites-storing-autofill-info-after-i-delete-everything-chrome/662138/1 "2013-06-28T16:35:33Z")

</div>

I had 2 facebook accounts. I deactivated one. In chrome I went into settings/advanced/manage saved passwords and deleted that username/password from the facebook entry. I closed Chrome, reopened and went to facebook. I go to log in and the username/password is still showing as an autofill along with the other that I did not delete.

I came here to make this post and in the title as I was starting a new thread I mistakenly typed an “F” as the first letter. A dropdown appeared where I could see the titles of the other 2 threads I started that began with letter “F”. So I went back into settings chose to delete all content since beginning of time. I cleared browsing history,cache, cookies, passwords, autfill form data, content licenses. After I did that I ran CCleaner and chose to delete everything from every browser.

I go back to Facebook and when I go to login, both emails are still listed in the username. I came here and typed “F” under title and both threads that started with “F” still autofill. WTF?

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![geneb](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/g/a88e4f/32.png) [@geneb](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/geneb)\
**Post date:** [June 28, 2013, 5:01pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/how-the-f-k-are-websites-storing-autofill-info-after-i-delete-everything-chrome/662138/2 "2013-06-28T17:01:52Z")

</div>

Chrome encourages logging into a Google account to save settings and bookmarks. Is it possible that you are deleting them autofill history locally but it is being imported again from a logged in account? Try logging on and then clearing the history and see if it still happens.

ETA: If this is the case, it seems you can stay logged in and turn off syncing autofill history by going to Settings –\> Advanced Sync Settings (under the “Sign In” heading) –\> Select “Choose what to sync” from the drop down –\> Uncheck “Autofill”.

ETA 2: After looking through the settings in Chrome, it looks like you can clear the autofill history associated with your account on the Google Dashboard ([https://www.google.com/settings/chrome/sync?hl=en-US](https://www.google.com/settings/chrome/sync?hl=en-US)). My personal preference would be disconnecting the account, though… I’m not privacy nut, but I’d prefer that Google not have a list of my passwords, history, bookmarks, etc. stored on their servers.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Quintas](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/q/48db29/32.png) [@Quintas](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Quintas)\
**Post date:** [June 28, 2013, 5:10pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/how-the-f-k-are-websites-storing-autofill-info-after-i-delete-everything-chrome/662138/3 "2013-06-28T17:10:04Z")

</div>

> [@geneb](#):
>
> Is it possible that you are deleting them autofill history locally but it is being imported again from a logged in account?

Yep. That was the answer. I had to log out (disconnect) from Chrome. Once I did that and cleared history, autofills were gone. When I logged back in they returned. I guess being imported from my android phone that is linked to my gmail address.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Amateur\_Barbarian](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/a/59ef9b/32.png) [@Amateur\_Barbarian](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Amateur_Barbarian)\
**Post date:** [June 28, 2013, 5:21pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/how-the-f-k-are-websites-storing-autofill-info-after-i-delete-everything-chrome/662138/4 "2013-06-28T17:21:11Z")

</div>

All praise Google for making the web so bountiful, generous and easy to use.

For themselves.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Quintas](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/q/48db29/32.png) [@Quintas](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Quintas)\
**Post date:** [June 28, 2013, 5:31pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/how-the-f-k-are-websites-storing-autofill-info-after-i-delete-everything-chrome/662138/5 "2013-06-28T17:31:18Z")

</div>

> [@Amateur\_Barbarian](#):
>
> All praise Google for making the web so bountiful, generous and easy to use.
> 
> For themselves.

The concept is ok I guess. All your info across devices. The downside would be logging in at a public computer and forgetting to log out.

Facebook on the other hand…:rolleyes: Their privacy settings seem deliberately confusing. If there is a link from your FB page to permanently delete an account it takes a smarter man than me to find it. There is a tiny easy to miss link to _deactivate_ it. But that just puts it in a hibernation state. I had to do a google search to find how to permanently delete it.
