# Is malware piggybacking the Dope?

**URL:** <https://boards.straightdope.com/t/is-malware-piggybacking-the-dope/631567>\
**Category:** About This Message Board\
**Created:** [August 15, 2012, 2:40pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/is-malware-piggybacking-the-dope/631567 "2012-08-15T14:40:30Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 2\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![BrainGlutton](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/b/82dd89/32.png) [@BrainGlutton](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/BrainGlutton)\
**Post date:** [August 15, 2012, 2:40pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/is-malware-piggybacking-the-dope/631567/1 "2012-08-15T14:40:30Z")

</div>

I’ve gotten a couple of “Thread Detected,” “Malware Blocked,” etc., windows popping up from Avast!, recently, while on the Dope.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![TubaDiva](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/tubadiva/32/507_2.png) [@TubaDiva](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/TubaDiva)\
**Post date:** [August 15, 2012, 3:26pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/is-malware-piggybacking-the-dope/631567/2 "2012-08-15T15:26:56Z")

</div>

Usually not but that doesn’t mean that we don’t have some sort of rogue ad.

Do you remember what ad was displaying on the page when these messages popped up?

Knowing what ads is potentially associated with the culprit helps us track it down and get it removed. If it’s just a vague complaint, however, there’s not a whole lot we can do, unfortunately.
