# Is this entertainment download site legit?

**URL:** <https://boards.straightdope.com/t/is-this-entertainment-download-site-legit/324008>\
**Category:** Cafe Society\
**Created:** [September 29, 2005, 1:23pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/is-this-entertainment-download-site-legit/324008 "2005-09-29T13:23:30Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 8\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![middleman](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/m/e9a140/32.png) [@middleman](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/middleman)\
**Post date:** [September 29, 2005, 1:23pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/is-this-entertainment-download-site-legit/324008/1 "2005-09-29T13:23:30Z")

</div>

This website promises the download of any episodes you missed of television. [http://www.tvshows.org/](http://www.tvshows.org/)

It says stop going to the movies and download there. Sounds like a pirate site. Oddly enough, it was in a google ad in the Family Guy DVD thread. Here’s the ad content:

> [@](#):
>
> Missed an Episode?  
> Download Family Guy episodes to watch at any time!  
> [www.TVShows.org](http://www.TVShows.org)

Is this a legal site?

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![ftg](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/ftg/32/2801_2.png) [@ftg](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/ftg)\
**Post date:** [September 29, 2005, 1:40pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/is-this-entertainment-download-site-legit/324008/2 "2005-09-29T13:40:45Z")

</div>

Define “legal”.

It is nothing more than a site that charges you for the usual P2P software. Since they don’t actually host the bootlegged files, they’re probably hoping to avoid getting sued. (Good luck with that!)

But using P2P software to download copyright material without permission is of course quite illegal (in the US and most other countries).

I would describe the site as “doubly ethically challenged.”

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![RealityChuck](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/realitychuck/32/195_2.png) [@RealityChuck](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/RealityChuck)\
**Post date:** [September 29, 2005, 2:16pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/is-this-entertainment-download-site-legit/324008/3 "2005-09-29T14:16:16Z")

</div>

Let’s see.

1. They’re harvesting your e-mail address.
2. There’s no mention anywhere of any of the TV shows they supposedly have. Wouldn’t that be the first thing they’d mention if they had the rights to them?
3. As a matter of fact, they make no claim they even have shows to download. Their terms of service only say they are providing you with software.
4. They’re harvesting your e-mail address.

Clearly a scam.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![middleman](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/m/e9a140/32.png) [@middleman](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/middleman)\
**Post date:** [September 29, 2005, 2:41pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/is-this-entertainment-download-site-legit/324008/4 "2005-09-29T14:41:57Z")

</div>

So did I give them my (ok. I was on my wife’s computer) e-mail address just by clicking on the link?

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![FatBaldGuy](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/f/ecd19e/32.png) [@FatBaldGuy](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/FatBaldGuy)\
**Post date:** [September 29, 2005, 2:46pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/is-this-entertainment-download-site-legit/324008/5 "2005-09-29T14:46:12Z")

</div>

> [@middleman](#):
>
> So did I give them my (ok. I was on my wife’s computer) e-mail address just by clicking on the link?

No. They don’t get your email address unless you explicitly give it to them by filling in a signup form.

However it’s highly likely that they placed some kind of “tracking cookie” or other spyware on your system to track what sites you visit and report back.

Ad-Aware and Spybot are your friends.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Erinaceus\_europaeus](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/e/e47774/32.png) [@Erinaceus\_europaeus](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Erinaceus_europaeus)\
**Post date:** [September 29, 2005, 2:48pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/is-this-entertainment-download-site-legit/324008/6 "2005-09-29T14:48:49Z")

</div>

> [@ftg](#):
>
> But using P2P software to download copyright material without permission is of course quite illegal (in the US and most other countries).

AFAIK downloading music / movies ain’t illegal here (the Netherlands), but publicly sharing them is - ofcourse most P2P programs today automatically share anything you’re downloading… I also understand that downloading “illegal” software is illegal, but I’m not sure if that’s really true.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![middleman](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/m/e9a140/32.png) [@middleman](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/middleman)\
**Post date:** [September 29, 2005, 3:12pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/is-this-entertainment-download-site-legit/324008/7 "2005-09-29T15:12:02Z")

</div>

> [@FatBaldGuy](#):
>
> No. They don’t get your email address unless you explicitly give it to them by filling in a signup form.
> 
> However it’s highly likely that they placed some kind of “tracking cookie” or other spyware on your system to track what sites you visit and report back.
> 
> Ad-Aware and Spybot are your friends.

My wife has some commercial stuff on her PC, so it should be ok…

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![xizor](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/xizor/32/102_2.png) [@xizor](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/xizor)\
**Post date:** [September 29, 2005, 7:32pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/is-this-entertainment-download-site-legit/324008/8 "2005-09-29T19:32:48Z")

</div>

From the link in the OP:

“Purchase of a Subscription is not a license to upload or download copyrighted material.”

So it is illegal at worst, highly misleading at best.
