# Is this site legit?

**URL:** <https://boards.straightdope.com/t/is-this-site-legit/475628>\
**Category:** Factual Questions\
**Created:** [December 4, 2008, 3:43am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/is-this-site-legit/475628 "2008-12-04T03:43:53Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 5\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![MannyL](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/m/ba8739/32.png) [@MannyL](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/MannyL)\
**Post date:** [December 4, 2008, 3:43am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/is-this-site-legit/475628/1 "2008-12-04T03:43:53Z")

</div>

I received an E-mail that I may have oped in for about a new site to download music it is [mp3count.com](http://mp3count.com) they CLAIM to be legal but the prices for the tracks are 18 cents a song which is insanley cheap.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Telemark](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/telemark/32/372_2.png) [@Telemark](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Telemark)\
**Post date:** [December 4, 2008, 4:25am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/is-this-site-legit/475628/2 "2008-12-04T04:25:23Z")

</div>

Probably operating in Russia, potentially legal by Russian standards, but definitely ripping off the artists.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![beowulff](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/beowulff/32/542_2.png) [@beowulff](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/beowulff)\
**Post date:** [December 4, 2008, 4:25am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/is-this-site-legit/475628/3 "2008-12-04T04:25:57Z")

</div>

> [@Telemark](#):
>
> Probably operating in Russia, potentially legal by Russian standards, but definitely ripping off the artists.

Actually, ex-Russia. Ukraine.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![mhendo](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/mhendo/32/3159_2.png) [@mhendo](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/mhendo)\
**Post date:** [December 4, 2008, 4:27am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/is-this-site-legit/475628/4 "2008-12-04T04:27:10Z")

</div>

The [WhoIs](http://www.whois.net/whois_new.cgi?d=mp3count&tld=com) information for the site lists owner/administrator details in Ukraine.

I can’t comment on whether the site is legal and legit over there, but i’d be willing to bet that it doesn’t license its music is a manner that is legal in the USA.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Ferret\_Herder](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/f/e47774/32.png) [@Ferret\_Herder](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Ferret_Herder)\
**Post date:** [December 4, 2008, 4:32am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/is-this-site-legit/475628/5 "2008-12-04T04:32:42Z")

</div>

And googling “mp3count” turns up [articles that question its legality](http://www.techcrunch.com/2008/09/29/ukrainian-startup-mp3count-springs-up-to-sell-music-for-pennies/) and [compare it to similar Russian sites](http://www.sitepoint.com/blogs/2008/09/30/mp3count-is-allofmp3-all-over-again/).

So even if it might be legal in Russia/the Ukraine, expect the US/the RIAA to argue that it’s at least not legal for **you** to have those files.
