# is this some new virus?

**URL:** <https://boards.straightdope.com/t/is-this-some-new-virus/214288>\
**Category:** Factual Questions\
**Created:** [November 20, 2003, 12:18pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/is-this-some-new-virus/214288 "2003-11-20T12:18:19Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 2\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![paulberserker](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/p/c4cdca/32.png) [@paulberserker](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/paulberserker)\
**Post date:** [November 20, 2003, 12:18pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/is-this-some-new-virus/214288/1 "2003-11-20T12:18:19Z")

</div>

while checking my yahoo e-mail account this morning there was an e-mail there from ‘ighfaik’ or something to that effect, with an attachment, titled ‘important info about your yahoo account’, or words to that effect.  
I opened it, and the ‘yahoo webmaster’ ighfaik tells me my account is about to expire. info contained on the attachment called ‘message.zip’

deleted it without opening, obviously. not that it makes much difference because i’m using a mac G4, but now i’m curious.

Is this a new scam virus they’re sending out?

I pretty much doubt my accounts about to run out, and they’d tell me on a zipped file. cant find anything about it on yahoo. anyone had the same thing?  
:rolleyes:

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![RealityChuck](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/realitychuck/32/195_2.png) [@RealityChuck](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/RealityChuck)\
**Post date:** [November 20, 2003, 1:31pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/is-this-some-new-virus/214288/2 "2003-11-20T13:31:00Z")

</div>

Definitely a virus – Mimail. It usually comes from [admin@domain.com](mailto:admin@domain.com) (any domain) and tells you to click on the attachment in order to keep your account active. It’s been around a couple of months.
