JEOPARDY! betting question

I thought they no longer allowed ties for first place.

Yes, supposedly they changed the rules so that co-champions are no longer allowed. In the event of a tie, there will be a tie-breaker: one clue, whoever rings in first and gets it right is the winner.

That’s the official line, although I’ve never seen it happen in a real game so far (and I watch pretty regularly).

Just a few days ago, that lady with the broken elbow pulled a numb-nuts move by wagering more than she had to in FJ (she had a pretty good lead) and ended up losing since the person who got the answer right did not wager enough to surpass her.


I’m a show-off with won money. I’d bet it all and throw in my car’s pink-slip as well.