# Microsoft Word 2007 issue--please help!

**URL:** <https://boards.straightdope.com/t/microsoft-word-2007-issue-please-help/425609>\
**Category:** Factual Questions\
**Created:** [November 8, 2007, 12:19am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/microsoft-word-2007-issue-please-help/425609 "2007-11-08T00:19:41Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 5\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Hostile\_Dialect](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/h/e495f1/32.png) [@Hostile\_Dialect](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Hostile_Dialect)\
**Post date:** [November 8, 2007, 12:19am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/microsoft-word-2007-issue-please-help/425609/1 "2007-11-08T00:19:41Z")

</div>

I need to get my resume out quickly, like ASAP. My problem: I’m using the “Chronological resume (Minimalist design)” template, I’ve banged out a nice little resume on one page, and Page 2 just _will not_ go away. The only thing on Page 2 is a damn footer. I can’t for the life of me figure out how to make the fucking page disappear, and I’m sending out the resume in soft copy so I can’t have a blank extra page dangling off of the end and screaming out, “Hey! Check out this asshole! He’s one unprofessional, non-detail-oriented motherfucker!”

Help!

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![MsWhatsit](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/m/eb8c5e/32.png) [@MsWhatsit](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/MsWhatsit)\
**Post date:** [November 8, 2007, 12:24am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/microsoft-word-2007-issue-please-help/425609/2 "2007-11-08T00:24:33Z")

</div>

Do you have non-printing characters set to display? If not, find the setting for that and turn it on. I don’t have Word 2007, but in Word 2003, you go to the Tools menu, click Options, and then in the Options dialog box, display the View tab and under Formatting marks, check the “All” checkbox.

Then go back to your document and see if there’s a stray paragraph mark or space or something on that second page; if so, delete it. If not, try deleting the final paragraph mark on page 1. Also keep an eye out for random section breaks or line breaks and delete those if necessary.

Failing all of that, select the text on page 1, copy it, and paste it into a new document. Sometimes the built-in Word templates have wonky stuff that you can’t fix unless you just say, screw this, and start fresh from a blank document.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Morbo](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/morbo/32/389_2.png) [@Morbo](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Morbo)\
**Post date:** [November 8, 2007, 12:32am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/microsoft-word-2007-issue-please-help/425609/3 "2007-11-08T00:32:16Z")

</div>

Turn on the Paragraph symbol button on the toolbar: ¶

Navigate to that symbol at the end of your text, select it and delete.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Hostile\_Dialect](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/h/e495f1/32.png) [@Hostile\_Dialect](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Hostile_Dialect)\
**Post date:** [November 8, 2007, 12:38am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/microsoft-word-2007-issue-please-help/425609/4 "2007-11-08T00:38:17Z")

</div>

[QUOTE=MsWhatsit]  
Do you have non-printing characters set to display? If not, find the setting for that and turn it on. I don’t have Word 2007, but in Word 2003, you go to the Tools menu, click Options, and then in the Options dialog box, display the View tab and under Formatting marks, check the “All” checkbox.

Then go back to your document and see if there’s a stray paragraph mark or space or something on that second page; if so, delete it. If not, try deleting the final paragraph mark on page 1. Also keep an eye out for random section breaks or line breaks and delete those if necessary.  
[/quote]

There is a stray paragraph mark on the second page, and there’s nothing I can do to get rid of it.

> [@MsWhatsit](#):
>
> Failing all of that, select the text on page 1, copy it, and paste it into a new document. Sometimes the built-in Word templates have wonky stuff that you can’t fix unless you just say, screw this, and start fresh from a blank document.

Tried that earlier. It messed the whole thing up beyond comprehension in the new document.

However, after fiddling with the copy and paste settings and then changing the margins of the new document, I was able to move it over and fit it on one page. Thanks!

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![MsWhatsit](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/m/eb8c5e/32.png) [@MsWhatsit](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/MsWhatsit)\
**Post date:** [November 8, 2007, 12:43am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/microsoft-word-2007-issue-please-help/425609/5 "2007-11-08T00:43:39Z")

</div>

Well… you’re welcome! Although it sounds like my advice was actually not all that helpful. Stupid Word and its stupid paragraph marks.
