# Napster Users

**URL:** <https://boards.straightdope.com/t/napster-users/40905>\
**Category:** Factual Questions\
**Created:** [November 12, 2000, 6:38pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/napster-users/40905 "2000-11-12T18:38:28Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 4\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![tjw](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/t/aca169/32.png) [@tjw](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/tjw)\
**Post date:** [November 12, 2000, 6:38pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/napster-users/40905/1 "2000-11-12T18:38:28Z")

</div>

When using Napster, Sometimes I see remotely queued when trying to download. What does that mean? How do you set it up?

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Oblong](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/o/c0e974/32.png) [@Oblong](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Oblong)\
**Post date:** [November 12, 2000, 7:04pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/napster-users/40905/2 "2000-11-12T19:04:56Z")

</div>

I think it means either that you have reached your maximum download number or the person you are downloading from is not quite ready to upload.

I could be wrong though.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Mac](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/m/cc9497/32.png) [@Mac](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Mac)\
**Post date:** [November 12, 2000, 7:15pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/napster-users/40905/3 "2000-11-12T19:15:09Z")

</div>

You can set the maxium number of uploads, this keeps the people you are uploading to from slowing you down to a crawl. The default is three simultaneous downloads. To set yours go to “file,preferences,downloading”

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Homer](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/h/df788c/32.png) [@Homer](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Homer)\
**Post date:** [November 12, 2000, 8:17pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/napster-users/40905/4 "2000-11-12T20:17:33Z")

</div>

No, you hitting your max downloads lends to a ‘queued’ setting. THEM hitting their max # of uploads leads to the ‘remotely queued’ setting. Switch to another user.

–Tim
