# No, really, is this website for real?

**URL:** <https://boards.straightdope.com/t/no-really-is-this-website-for-real/266021>\
**Category:** In My Humble Opinion\
**Created:** [September 25, 2004, 7:05am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/no-really-is-this-website-for-real/266021 "2004-09-25T07:05:34Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 8\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Muad\_Dib](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/m/35a633/32.png) [@Muad\_Dib](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Muad_Dib)\
**Post date:** [September 25, 2004, 7:05am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/no-really-is-this-website-for-real/266021/1 "2004-09-25T07:05:34Z")

</div>

[http://www.4gain.com/](http://www.4gain.com/)

I saw a commercial for it on a Tivo’d episode of _Dilbert_ and I kept waiting for the punchline. Really, the commercial looked like it was a spoof on stupid home business scams, even the faces looked like they had digitally manipulated smiles. All of that with the constant reminders to “go to this website now” and the complete lack of any explanation as to what the hell they are selling, has me still wondering if it is all a joke of some sort.

I entered a bunch of fake information (I wonder if they notice that Funky Town is not to be found in the 90210 area code), but it just goes deeper offering videos for a home business and saying to check my e-mail in the next 60 minutes for more offers. But it all looks so fake! I still expect a “gotcha!”. If you saw the television commercial you would understand.

This is either a very elaborate prank of some sort, or an attempt to suck away the meager money of the exceedingly stupid.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Ilsa\_Lund](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/i/a6a055/32.png) [@Ilsa\_Lund](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Ilsa_Lund)\
**Post date:** [September 25, 2004, 8:05am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/no-really-is-this-website-for-real/266021/2 "2004-09-25T08:05:48Z")

</div>

Door number 2, I’d say.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Sharky](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/s/bbce88/32.png) [@Sharky](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Sharky)\
**Post date:** [September 25, 2004, 8:21am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/no-really-is-this-website-for-real/266021/3 "2004-09-25T08:21:49Z")

</div>

Caveat:

[Better Business Bureau Alert Re: Guerra Communications, LLC](http://www.spokane.bbb.org/alerts/alerts.html?newsid=481&newstype=1)

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![duffer](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/duffer/32/1026_2.png) [@duffer](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/duffer)\
**Post date:** [September 25, 2004, 9:27am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/no-really-is-this-website-for-real/266021/4 "2004-09-25T09:27:17Z")

</div>

Yup, I recognized the face of the “host” in the link. We have the same commercials here that have so far had 3 different web addresses in the past 6 months or so. Though none were the one you gave. They all have a number in them. Our current one has a 9 in it, and I think the previous one was 5myfuture dot com or something like that.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Manduck](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/manduck/32/256_2.png) [@Manduck](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Manduck)\
**Post date:** [September 25, 2004, 10:33am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/no-really-is-this-website-for-real/266021/5 "2004-09-25T10:33:14Z")

</div>

“It’s not a get-rich-quick scheme, but guess what - I did!”

All the people in that commercial have faces that say “hit me”.

Grrr

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Muad\_Dib](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/m/35a633/32.png) [@Muad\_Dib](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Muad_Dib)\
**Post date:** [September 25, 2004, 3:10pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/no-really-is-this-website-for-real/266021/6 "2004-09-25T15:10:46Z")

</div>

> [@Manduck](#):
>
> “It’s not a get-rich-quick scheme, but guess what - I did!”
> 
> All the people in that commercial have faces that say “hit me”.
> 
> Grrr

That is just it. It is lines like that that make me think that this **must** be some sort of joke. It was just too stupid to be real.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Manduck](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/manduck/32/256_2.png) [@Manduck](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Manduck)\
**Post date:** [September 25, 2004, 9:49pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/no-really-is-this-website-for-real/266021/7 "2004-09-25T21:49:49Z")

</div>

“My goal for next year is 50,000 a month [wink]”  
GAAAHH!! I MUST HIT YOU!!

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Larry\_Mudd](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/l/f14d63/32.png) [@Larry\_Mudd](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Larry_Mudd)\
**Post date:** [September 25, 2004, 9:59pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/no-really-is-this-website-for-real/266021/8 "2004-09-25T21:59:45Z")

</div>

[Cheesy TV Ads are an Elaborate Privacy Scam](http://geek.focalcurve.com/archive/2004/08/7career-scam/).
