# Other websites stealing content again.

**URL:** <https://boards.straightdope.com/t/other-websites-stealing-content-again/612573>\
**Category:** About This Message Board\
**Created:** [February 12, 2012, 1:50am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/other-websites-stealing-content-again/612573 "2012-02-12T01:50:47Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 12\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Cheshire\_Human](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/c/5f8ce5/32.png) [@Cheshire\_Human](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Cheshire_Human)\
**Post date:** [February 12, 2012, 1:50am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/other-websites-stealing-content-again/612573/1 "2012-02-12T01:50:47Z")

</div>

[http://en.jo1jo.com/vb2/showthread.php?t=1159438](http://en.jo1jo.com/vb2/showthread.php?t=1159438)

I stumbled across this in a google search, and recognized **RealityChuck** ’s name. I saw a few familiar looking threads, there, when I looked at a thread listing.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Cheshire\_Human](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/c/5f8ce5/32.png) [@Cheshire\_Human](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Cheshire_Human)\
**Post date:** [February 12, 2012, 2:07am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/other-websites-stealing-content-again/612573/2 "2012-02-12T02:07:59Z")

</div>

More examples from the same site:

[http://en.jo1jo.com/vb2/showthread.php?t=1159129](http://en.jo1jo.com/vb2/showthread.php?t=1159129)  
[http://en.jo1jo.com/vb2/showthread.php?t=701106](http://en.jo1jo.com/vb2/showthread.php?t=701106)  
[http://en.jo1jo.com/vb2/showthread.php?t=1158831](http://en.jo1jo.com/vb2/showthread.php?t=1158831) - although this one doesn’t have a direct link on it to the original, I just read the original a couple of hours ago, and so recognized it as this one:  
[Why do some people mock the ones who are suicidal? - In My Humble Opinion - Straight Dope Message Board](http://boards.straightdope.com/sdmb/showthread.php?t=641732)

That should be enough examples to establish it.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Attack\_from\_the\_3rd\_dimension](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/a/b38774/32.png) [@Attack\_from\_the\_3rd\_dimension](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Attack_from_the_3rd_dimension)\
**Post date:** [February 12, 2012, 2:25am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/other-websites-stealing-content-again/612573/3 "2012-02-12T02:25:28Z")

</div>

If you click on the top link in the site in the op, it takes you to some sort of arabic site. Very odd, and pointless as well.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![RaftPeople](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/r/6f9a4e/32.png) [@RaftPeople](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/RaftPeople)\
**Post date:** [February 12, 2012, 2:44am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/other-websites-stealing-content-again/612573/4 "2012-02-12T02:44:15Z")

</div>

> [@Cheshire\_Human](#):
>
> [http://en.jo1jo.com/vb2/showthread.php?t=1159438](http://en.jo1jo.com/vb2/showthread.php?t=1159438)
> 
> I stumbled across this in a google search, and recognized **RealityChuck** ’s name. I saw a few familiar looking threads, there, when I looked at a thread listing.

Red in WOT - probably best to avoid that link.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![TubaDiva](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/tubadiva/32/507_2.png) [@TubaDiva](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/TubaDiva)\
**Post date:** [February 12, 2012, 3:00am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/other-websites-stealing-content-again/612573/5 "2012-02-12T03:00:30Z")

</div>

I wouldn’t click on any of those links.

Unfortunately unscrupulous operators gank content from legitimate websites all the time. Can’t fault them for their taste. 🙂

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Der\_Trihs](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/der_trihs/32/233_2.png) [@Der\_Trihs](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Der_Trihs)\
**Post date:** [February 12, 2012, 3:55am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/other-websites-stealing-content-again/612573/6 "2012-02-12T03:55:05Z")

</div>

> [@RaftPeople](#):
>
> Red in WOT - probably best to avoid that link.

What’s WOT?

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Idle\_Thoughts](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/i/838e76/32.png) [@Idle\_Thoughts](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Idle_Thoughts)\
**Post date:** [February 12, 2012, 4:08am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/other-websites-stealing-content-again/612573/7 "2012-02-12T04:08:48Z")

</div>

> [@Der\_Trihs](#):
>
> What’s WOT?

Pretty sure he’s talking about mywot, which is a site that helps you keep track of sites that are safe or not safe based on user votes.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![RaftPeople](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/r/6f9a4e/32.png) [@RaftPeople](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/RaftPeople)\
**Post date:** [February 12, 2012, 4:32am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/other-websites-stealing-content-again/612573/8 "2012-02-12T04:32:01Z")

</div>

> [@Der\_Trihs](#):
>
> What’s WOT?

Web Of Trust, it’s an add-on for firefox, marks each web page in search or that you go to with a green or red dot based on user’s reports of malware from that site etc.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Gagundathar](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/g/a183cd/32.png) [@Gagundathar](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Gagundathar)\
**Post date:** [February 12, 2012, 4:35am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/other-websites-stealing-content-again/612573/9 "2012-02-12T04:35:02Z")

</div>

I you are going to steal, steal from the best.

I guess we should feel honored in some odd manner.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![levdrakon](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/l/49beb7/32.png) [@levdrakon](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/levdrakon)\
**Post date:** [February 12, 2012, 4:51am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/other-websites-stealing-content-again/612573/10 "2012-02-12T04:51:28Z")

</div>

And they’ve got a newer version of vBulletin than we have, bastards.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Morgenstern](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/m/f9ae1b/32.png) [@Morgenstern](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Morgenstern)\
**Post date:** [February 12, 2012, 2:17pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/other-websites-stealing-content-again/612573/11 "2012-02-12T14:17:51Z")

</div>

I clicked the first link, then looked at the person who posted it. I found this…   
Join Date: Nov 2010  
Posts: 101,310

101,000 posts in 15 months? That gives new meaning to get a life.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![jjimm](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/j/ba8739/32.png) [@jjimm](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/jjimm)\
**Post date:** [February 12, 2012, 2:27pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/other-websites-stealing-content-again/612573/12 "2012-02-12T14:27:51Z")

</div>

I went to the root URL of the site, and it’s some appallingly constructed Arabic site that looks like it’s aiming to be the portal for Jordan.

Some poor intern has probably been charged with creating an English-language messageboard and has been panicking for 15 months going “look boss, lots of content - see here, a fascinating thread: ‘RealityChuck, you’re an ignorant twat’.”
