# Possible copyright violation over here?

**URL:** <https://boards.straightdope.com/t/possible-copyright-violation-over-here/42839>\
**Category:** About This Message Board\
**Created:** [November 27, 2000, 7:28am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/possible-copyright-violation-over-here/42839 "2000-11-27T07:28:15Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 7\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Louie](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/l/c68b51/32.png) [@Louie](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Louie)\
**Post date:** [November 27, 2000, 7:28am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/possible-copyright-violation-over-here/42839/1 "2000-11-27T07:28:15Z")

</div>

Check this out :

[http://straightdope.com](http://straightdope.com) (Correct spelling)

Okay, now take a look at this :

[http://staightdope.com](http://staightdope.com) (Letter R is missing)

Instead of getting a “page not found” message, you’ll go to [PopularCategories.com](http://PopularCategories.com)

I don’t know if this is a big or little thing, just want to bring this to attention.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Coldfire](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/c/a587f6/32.png) [@Coldfire](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Coldfire)\
**Post date:** [November 27, 2000, 10:16am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/possible-copyright-violation-over-here/42839/2 "2000-11-27T10:16:51Z")

</div>

That IS strange. What would the reasoning behind this be? “Let’s take a site with many hits, and assume the nearest name”?

Not sure about the copyright implications, though. But one of our staff will be, no doubt.

Thanks for the heads-up, Louie!

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Cosmo\_s\_Ghost](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/c/779978/32.png) [@Cosmo\_s\_Ghost](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Cosmo_s_Ghost)\
**Post date:** [November 27, 2000, 4:39pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/possible-copyright-violation-over-here/42839/3 "2000-11-27T16:39:23Z")

</div>

Had it been “statedope” or some such, you could have said it was a coincidence.

But in this case, I’ll bet what they did was have some insider information about what names are typed into some searcher that cannot be found.  
Then register all the typo-nyms.

If that’s so they will fold when you call their bluff.  
Send a letter from someone who’s name ends in Esq.  
Since they have tons more “scrap ore” in their slag pile,  
they will not care if one is claimed from them.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![hawthorne](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/h/c89c15/32.png) [@hawthorne](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/hawthorne)\
**Post date:** [November 27, 2000, 4:57pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/possible-copyright-violation-over-here/42839/4 "2000-11-27T16:57:09Z")

</div>

I like the term “typo-nyms” **Cosmo’s Ghost**. I don’t see any great harm in this - unlike some sites I’ve seen, the link doesn’t lead to a page which passes itself off as this one.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![User\_10K](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/u/d26b3c/32.png) [@User\_10K](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/User_10K)\
**Post date:** [November 27, 2000, 5:51pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/possible-copyright-violation-over-here/42839/5 "2000-11-27T17:51:57Z")

</div>

I think someone should tell them off, even if it is an empty threat to sue. These guys are just making it impossible to pick a name anymore. When I got one for my site I had to go with my 6th choice, because 1-5 were “reserved”, not even “under construction”, just “reserved”, which costs nothing I believe, and is good for two months at a time.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Louie](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/l/c68b51/32.png) [@Louie](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Louie)\
**Post date:** [November 27, 2000, 9:33pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/possible-copyright-violation-over-here/42839/6 "2000-11-27T21:33:06Z")

</div>

Cosmo’s Ghost, looks like you are right on everything you said.

I found this message [here](http://www.popularcategories.com/about/about.html)

> [@](#):
>
> About Popular Catagories
> 
> We are an Internet mapping company that helps users reach their destination. You may have mistyped your desired Internet address or the web site you are seeking may not be operational. Please make sure you have typed your URL address correctly or, if you would like, use our search engine to reach any destination on the Web.

and [this message as well](http://www.popularcategories.com/about/domains.html):

> [@](#):
>
> It is our policy to release any domain name that, in our opinion, another person or company has a legitimate claim to. The cost for release of the domain consists of:
> 
> (1) Reimbursement of the domain registration fee(s) and related costs plus…  
> (2) Costs thus far incurred related to domain set-up and server hosting
> 
> Release of a domain will be approved PROVIDED you can supply a federally registered trademark for the domain. We will not risk releasing a domain to someone who does not have a legitimate claim to a name.
> 
> None of the domains are for sale. We have acquired these domains utilizing proprietary algorithms developed specifically for our business needs. We have many domains which prevents us from commenting on the specifics for any single domain.

So it looks like if we tell them to stop, they’ll stop.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![andros](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/a/e480ec/32.png) [@andros](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/andros)\
**Post date:** [November 28, 2000, 1:02am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/possible-copyright-violation-over-here/42839/7 "2000-11-28T01:02:02Z")

</div>

Reminds me of the early days of cybersquatting, where folks registered the names “[www.micorsoft.com](http://www.micorsoft.com)” and “[www.dinsey.com](http://www.dinsey.com).” At least one such purchaser was really cool, and just brought up an ad before sending you to the site you intended, but I’m damned if I can remmeber it now . . .

BTW, “[www.micorsoft.com](http://www.micorsoft.com)” currently sends one to [http://www.searchmagnifier.com](http://www.searchmagnifier.com), which looks very much like Popular Categories.
