# Somebody has a crush on you!

**URL:** <https://boards.straightdope.com/t/somebody-has-a-crush-on-you/95196>\
**Category:** Factual Questions\
**Created:** [November 25, 2001, 11:02pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/somebody-has-a-crush-on-you/95196 "2001-11-25T23:02:30Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 8\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Muad\_Dib](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/m/35a633/32.png) [@Muad\_Dib](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Muad_Dib)\
**Post date:** [November 25, 2001, 11:02pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/somebody-has-a-crush-on-you/95196/1 "2001-11-25T23:02:30Z")

</div>

I just recieved an e-mail with that header.

The rest of the e-mail is as follows:

Want to find out who it is? Just click to [http://www.CrushLink.com](http://www.CrushLink.com) \<[http://216.33.236.250/cgi-bin/linkrd?\_lang=EN&lah=c3f2862559af6a47590b761a8333c7c9&lat=1006729210&hm\_\_\_action=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.crushlink.com%2Findex.php3%3Femail%3Dkleebner%40hotmail.com%26invcode%3Ddyps34](http://216.33.236.250/cgi-bin/linkrd?_lang=EN&lah=c3f2862559af6a47590b761a8333c7c9&lat=1006729210&hm___action=http%3a%2f%2fwww%2ecrushlink%2ecom%2findex%2ephp3%3femail%3dkleebner%40hotmail%2ecom%26invcode%3ddyps34)\>

Email address: **\>edit\<**  
Invitation code: **\>edit\<**

Make sure you enter in this information exactly as shown above.

See you soon!

Sincerely,  
The Crush Master  
PS. This is not junk email. You’ve received it because someone you know came to CrushLink and confessed an interest in you! Maybe it was that hottie from English class or the cute one at the party last weekend or maybe–well, we can’t even give you a hint until you come to [CrushLink.com](http://CrushLink.com).

PPS. If you do not wish to receive any more of these messages from CrushLink, please visit [http://www.CrushLink.com/block.php3](http://www.CrushLink.com/block.php3)

So is this legit? Or is it just a scam to get an active e-mail address to spam? I do know of a person who might have sent this.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![IBBen](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/i/85f322/32.png) [@IBBen](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/IBBen)\
**Post date:** [November 25, 2001, 11:15pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/somebody-has-a-crush-on-you/95196/2 "2001-11-25T23:15:39Z")

</div>

I didn’t send it, I don’t like you 🙂

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Derleth](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/d/b9e5f3/32.png) [@Derleth](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Derleth)\
**Post date:** [November 25, 2001, 11:20pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/somebody-has-a-crush-on-you/95196/3 "2001-11-25T23:20:23Z")

</div>

Guess what? I have Sam Spade! 🙂

216.33.236.250 is [http://www.law7.hotmail.com](http://www.law7.hotmail.com) (rDNS is a tool of the gods!) It is registered to Exodus Communications, Inc., in Santa Clara.

The big long address you quoted in angle brackets is a no-go. It says “The parameter is incorrect.”

[http://www.law7.hotmail.com](http://www.law7.hotmail.com) gives you a redirect to a Hotmail login site \<[http://lc2.law13.hotmail.passport.com/cgi-bin/login](http://lc2.law13.hotmail.passport.com/cgi-bin/login)\>. Another no-go.

CrushLink is valid. It gives a registration site.

I’m wary of opt-out schemes. Most of them just confirm to the spammer that someone is at the other end of a mailbox. I don’t see any hanky-panky at their opt-out site, but I still don’t trust it.

CrushLink itself doesn’t seem to be selling anything to you, but it probably sells valid addresses (the addresses of those who respond) to spammers.

The ToS states that CrushLink is owned by Jumpstart Technologies, LLC (JTLLC). It doesn’t mention that JTLLC _can_ sell addresses, but it doesn’t say they _won’t_.

My summary: Don’t trust 'em.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![heptapod](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/h/a88e4f/32.png) [@heptapod](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/heptapod)\
**Post date:** [November 25, 2001, 11:31pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/somebody-has-a-crush-on-you/95196/4 "2001-11-25T23:31:32Z")

</div>

If you go through something like crushlink you’ll discover that they require you to enter ten email addresses of your friends for “hints” followed by having to register at some other site that’s “totally free” which leads to an increase in being spammed. Thank goodness for disposable freemail accounts.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Caldazar](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/c/8e8cbc/32.png) [@Caldazar](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Caldazar)\
**Post date:** [November 25, 2001, 11:36pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/somebody-has-a-crush-on-you/95196/5 "2001-11-25T23:36:40Z")

</div>

An ex-girlfriend of mine once signed up with one of these types of services (I use the term loosely) and got them to send me one of these emails. It’s legit in the sense that it’s just for entertainment and they sent you the email because someone asked them to. That said, they send you spam.

There are better ways to ask someone out on a date.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![handy](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/h/b5a626/32.png) [@handy](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/handy)\
**Post date:** [November 25, 2001, 11:37pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/somebody-has-a-crush-on-you/95196/6 "2001-11-25T23:37:49Z")

</div>

Old topic but very well answered already by Derleth…may it never show itself again to my eyes 🙂

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Psycho\_Aquarius](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/p/e95f7d/32.png) [@Psycho\_Aquarius](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Psycho_Aquarius)\
**Post date:** [November 26, 2001, 2:47am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/somebody-has-a-crush-on-you/95196/7 "2001-11-26T02:47:33Z")

</div>

It’s from e-crush, someone wants to know if they like you. I’ve seen it before, it’s someone that likes you and this is how it works: they send you an e-mail, you sign up for the site, then e-mail all your crushes (anonymously) and whammo, if you send an e-mail to the person that likes you, you meet and get to figure out who it is  
BTW, congratulations!

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Psycho\_Aquarius](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/p/e95f7d/32.png) [@Psycho\_Aquarius](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Psycho_Aquarius)\
**Post date:** [November 26, 2001, 2:53am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/somebody-has-a-crush-on-you/95196/8 "2001-11-26T02:53:17Z")

</div>

I didn’t mean it WAS e-crush, but That’s what it looks like. I really wouldn’t try it, because I don’t think CrushLink is a real site. I like e-crush though 🙂  
(my opinion)
