# Something on the SDMB is blowing up my virus scanner

**URL:** https://boards.straightdope.com/t/something-on-the-sdmb-is-blowing-up-my-virus-scanner/576942
**Category:** About This Message Board
**Created:** [April 2, 2011, 2:04pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/something-on-the-sdmb-is-blowing-up-my-virus-scanner/576942 "2011-04-02T14:04:41Z")
**Posts on this page:** 9
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

### Author: ![Lord\_Ashtar](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/l/7ea924/32.png) [@Lord\_Ashtar](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Lord_Ashtar)
#### Post date: [April 2, 2011, 2:04pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/something-on-the-sdmb-is-blowing-up-my-virus-scanner/576942/1 "2011-04-02T14:04:41Z")

</div>

Every time I click a link today, my virus scanner keeps warning me that it has blocked the below URL (broken for obvious reasons):

[http://http.cdnlayer.com/drivingrevenue/DR\_v4.js](http://http.cdnlayer.com/drivingrevenue/DR_v4.js)

---

<div class="post-metadata">

### Author: ![Lord\_Ashtar](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/l/7ea924/32.png) [@Lord\_Ashtar](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Lord_Ashtar)
#### Post date: [April 3, 2011, 2:21pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/something-on-the-sdmb-is-blowing-up-my-virus-scanner/576942/2 "2011-04-03T14:21:37Z")

</div>

So…nothing from the admins about this?

---

<div class="post-metadata">

### Author: ![Canadjun](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/c/76d3ee/32.png) [@Canadjun](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Canadjun)
#### Post date: [April 3, 2011, 8:18pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/something-on-the-sdmb-is-blowing-up-my-virus-scanner/576942/3 "2011-04-03T20:18:16Z")

</div>

Interesting. I don’t have a particularly good answer for you because I am not techy enough, but I just checked Adblock Plus. That exact script is currently being blocked by Adblock Plus on my machine (along with scripts from [edge.quantserve.com](http://edge.quantserve.com), [insight-s3.exelator.com](http://insight-s3.exelator.com), [tap-cnd.rubiconproject.com](http://tap-cnd.rubiconproject.com), and www .google-analytics.com). Hmm…

---

<div class="post-metadata">

### Author: ![Leaper](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/l/4bbf92/32.png) [@Leaper](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Leaper)
#### Post date: [April 4, 2011, 12:53am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/something-on-the-sdmb-is-blowing-up-my-virus-scanner/576942/4 "2011-04-04T00:53:30Z")

</div>

Found on Google, possibly useless, but maybe not: A reply from [another message board where this popped up](http://www.nestreetriders.com/forum/site-info-suggestions/64157-malicious-url.html):

> [@Admin of New England Street Riders forum](#):
>
> We do use Driving Revenue code on this site, it just appends an affiliate code to any qualifying outbound links. It’s been on the site for over a year and it’s been the same code all along so I think it’s just a false positive.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

### Author: ![chacoguy](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/c/50afbb/32.png) [@chacoguy](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/chacoguy)
#### Post date: [April 4, 2011, 1:29am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/something-on-the-sdmb-is-blowing-up-my-virus-scanner/576942/5 "2011-04-04T01:29:59Z")

</div>

> [@Lord\_Ashtar](#):
>
> So…nothing from the admins about this?

It’s fiiiiine.

You’ll be fine. 🙂

---

<div class="post-metadata">

### Author: ![TubaDiva](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/tubadiva/32/507_2.png) [@TubaDiva](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/TubaDiva)
#### Post date: [April 4, 2011, 2:51am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/something-on-the-sdmb-is-blowing-up-my-virus-scanner/576942/6 "2011-04-04T02:51:59Z")

</div>

Driving Revenue is part of the ad package – this is probably a misapplied link/malformed coding on the ad side.

[http://www.drivingrevenue.com/](http://www.drivingrevenue.com/)

Just the same, I’ll report this up to Jerry.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

### Author: ![Gleena](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/g/b3f665/32.png) [@Gleena](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Gleena)
#### Post date: [April 4, 2011, 3:05am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/something-on-the-sdmb-is-blowing-up-my-virus-scanner/576942/7 "2011-04-04T03:05:58Z")

</div>

It’s pinging my work virus check, too, just FYI.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

### Author: ![Lord\_Ashtar](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/l/7ea924/32.png) [@Lord\_Ashtar](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Lord_Ashtar)
#### Post date: [April 4, 2011, 3:07am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/something-on-the-sdmb-is-blowing-up-my-virus-scanner/576942/8 "2011-04-04T03:07:39Z")

</div>

> [@TubaDiva](#):
>
> Just the same, I’ll report this up to Jerry.

Thank you.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

### Author: ![Canadjun](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/c/76d3ee/32.png) [@Canadjun](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Canadjun)
#### Post date: [April 4, 2011, 11:50pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/something-on-the-sdmb-is-blowing-up-my-virus-scanner/576942/9 "2011-04-04T23:50:03Z")

</div>

> [@TubaDiva](#):
>
> Driving Revenue is part of the ad package – this is probably a misapplied link/malformed coding on the ad side.
> 
> [http://www.drivingrevenue.com/](http://www.drivingrevenue.com/)
> 
> Just the same, I’ll report this up to Jerry.

So why is that script as well as the others I mentioned showing up in Adblock even for members (who don’t get ads)?
