# Thedownloadplace.com?

**URL:** <https://boards.straightdope.com/t/thedownloadplace-com/269693>\
**Category:** Factual Questions\
**Created:** [October 17, 2004, 5:40pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/thedownloadplace-com/269693 "2004-10-17T17:40:12Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 6\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![chaoticbear](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/c/f07891/32.png) [@chaoticbear](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/chaoticbear)\
**Post date:** [October 17, 2004, 5:40pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/thedownloadplace-com/269693/1 "2004-10-17T17:40:12Z")

</div>

Has anyone else ever seen this site? It _seems_ legit, and the FAQ says that it is (I know… caveat emptor), but 30 dollars is a lot to pay if it doesn’t work. Any other experiences with this?

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Mr.Blue\_Sky](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/m/d26b3c/32.png) [@Mr.Blue\_Sky](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Mr.Blue_Sky)\
**Post date:** [October 17, 2004, 5:49pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/thedownloadplace-com/269693/2 "2004-10-17T17:49:19Z")

</div>

I’ve seen another site like that, but when I clicked on their FAQ, I was told I’d have to join first before they would tell me anything.

I vote stay away.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![kellner](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/k/c2a13f/32.png) [@kellner](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/kellner)\
**Post date:** [October 17, 2004, 5:52pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/thedownloadplace-com/269693/3 "2004-10-17T17:52:22Z")

</div>

I didn’t find any place where they gave a real address or country. So even if it is legal where they operate the site, so far you don’t know that using it is legal for _you_. If they really refuse to give their identity that doesn’t look very good.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![daffyduck](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/d/ec9cab/32.png) [@daffyduck](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/daffyduck)\
**Post date:** [October 17, 2004, 6:34pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/thedownloadplace-com/269693/4 "2004-10-17T18:34:43Z")

</div>

Their Terms of Service tell you exactly how it works.

You agree that you will not transmit **or access any data that infringes** any patent, trademark, trade secret, **copyright** or other proprietary rights of any party and agree to indemnify and hold harmless thedownloadplace from **their** claims if you do.

Bolding mine. In other words, you agree that you won’t download anything from them that violates a copyright and if you do and the owner of the copyright comes after you, then that is between you and the copyright holder and they are out of the picture. In other words, downloading from them is your risk, not theirs. Sleaze factor +10

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Revtim](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/revtim/32/1042_2.png) [@Revtim](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Revtim)\
**Post date:** [October 17, 2004, 6:49pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/thedownloadplace-com/269693/5 "2004-10-17T18:49:48Z")

</div>

I have no doubt they simply give you access to a freely-accessible P2P network like Kazaa’s, and they are preying on folks thinking “If I pay for it it must be legit!”.

I’d stay far away.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![samclem](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/s/a9a28c/32.png) [@samclem](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/samclem)\
**Post date:** [October 17, 2004, 7:02pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/thedownloadplace-com/269693/6 "2004-10-17T19:02:21Z")

</div>

Take the advice offered.

Closed.

**samclem** GQ moderator
