# This 'aircraft' for sale on eBay - Are they serious?!

**URL:** <https://boards.straightdope.com/t/this-aircraft-for-sale-on-ebay-are-they-serious/233380>\
**Category:** Factual Questions\
**Created:** [March 10, 2004, 12:15am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/this-aircraft-for-sale-on-ebay-are-they-serious/233380 "2004-03-10T00:15:36Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 9\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Hail\_Ants](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/h/dc4da7/32.png) [@Hail\_Ants](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Hail_Ants)\
**Post date:** [March 10, 2004, 12:15am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/this-aircraft-for-sale-on-ebay-are-they-serious/233380/1 "2004-03-10T00:15:36Z")

</div>

Hope I’m not violating any forum rules, but I had to share this with any aircraft enthusiasts. [Click here to view this ‘craft’.](http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2464715274&category=26428) :eek:

Is this a joke, a scam, an incredibly ignorant person, or some combination of the three?

Look at the open, unshrouded (i.e. useless) ‘turbine’ on the top! Look how its ‘attached’ to bicycle handlebars! Look at the, ahem, ‘pilot’ modeling with it. Look at how many times I’ve used ‘quotes’ to describe things…

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Ranchoth](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/ranchoth/32/1066_2.png) [@Ranchoth](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Ranchoth)\
**Post date:** [March 10, 2004, 1:23am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/this-aircraft-for-sale-on-ebay-are-they-serious/233380/2 "2004-03-10T01:23:44Z")

</div>

Hey, the idea’s [not that farfetched.](http://www.hiller.org/exhibits/online-exhibits/flying-platform/flying-platform.html)

Not that that means the eBay machine actually _works,_ though.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Broomstick](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/broomstick/32/246_2.png) [@Broomstick](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Broomstick)\
**Post date:** [March 10, 2004, 1:31am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/this-aircraft-for-sale-on-ebay-are-they-serious/233380/3 "2004-03-10T01:31:14Z")

</div>

I’ve seen some pretty strage stuff fly – but then, getting off the ground and back again safely _is_ the big test.

I’d have a lot more confidence in this being a legit flying machine if there were _pictures of it flying_. Or at least attempting to.

I vote for “highly unlikely - shop elsewhere”

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![CookingWithGas](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/cookingwithgas/32/485_2.png) [@CookingWithGas](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/CookingWithGas)\
**Post date:** [March 10, 2004, 1:50am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/this-aircraft-for-sale-on-ebay-are-they-serious/233380/4 "2004-03-10T01:50:37Z")

</div>

Looks like none of you guys got past the photos.

> [@](#):
>
> THE CRAFT IS EXPERIMENTAL, HAS NOT FLOWN AND NO GUARANTEE OF IT’S FITTNESS FOR ANY PURPOSE IS EXPRESSED. SELLING “AS IS, WHERE IS”.

They are just trying to raise money for more “research.” I hope they’re better at aerodynamics than they are at spelling.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Ale](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/a/f19dbf/32.png) [@Ale](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Ale)\
**Post date:** [March 10, 2004, 2:17am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/this-aircraft-for-sale-on-ebay-are-they-serious/233380/5 "2004-03-10T02:17:22Z")

</div>

Add two pairs of wheels on the sides and you´ll get a kick-ass lawnmower. 😛

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Early\_Out](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/e/6f9a4e/32.png) [@Early\_Out](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Early_Out)\
**Post date:** [March 10, 2004, 2:24am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/this-aircraft-for-sale-on-ebay-are-they-serious/233380/6 "2004-03-10T02:24:49Z")

</div>

I don’t think that even their ploy of using a topless model is going to help sell that sucker.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![malden](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/m/7bcc69/32.png) [@malden](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/malden)\
**Post date:** [March 10, 2004, 3:15am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/this-aircraft-for-sale-on-ebay-are-they-serious/233380/7 "2004-03-10T03:15:07Z")

</div>

> [@CookingWithGas](#):
>
> Looks like none of you guys got past the photos.
> 
> > [@](#):
> >
> > THE CRAFT IS EXPERIMENTAL, HAS NOT FLOWN AND NO GUARANTEE OF IT’S FITTNESS FOR ANY PURPOSE IS EXPRESSED. SELLING “AS IS, WHERE IS”.
> 
> They are just trying to raise money for more “research.” I hope they’re better at aerodynamics than they are at spelling.

Yes, but this is even better:

> [@](#):
>
> We are currently proforming ground testing with it and reserve the right to end this auction at any time should we achieve controlled flight.

So: If it _does_ fly, you can’t buy it! 😃

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![airdrawn](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/a/3da27b/32.png) [@airdrawn](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/airdrawn)\
**Post date:** [March 10, 2004, 3:25am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/this-aircraft-for-sale-on-ebay-are-they-serious/233380/8 "2004-03-10T03:25:07Z")

</div>

i could make something out of lego that would probably fly a lot more than that ‘machine’ on ebay, lol

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![BlackPheonix](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/b/dfb087/32.png) [@BlackPheonix](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/BlackPheonix)\
**Post date:** [March 10, 2004, 5:28am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/this-aircraft-for-sale-on-ebay-are-they-serious/233380/9 "2004-03-10T05:28:19Z")

</div>

Its a joke people, come on.
