# virus?  jdbgm

**URL:** <https://boards.straightdope.com/t/virus-jdbgm/235483>\
**Category:** Factual Questions\
**Created:** [March 21, 2004, 1:01am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/virus-jdbgm/235483 "2004-03-21T01:01:41Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 4\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![SoulSearching](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/s/848f3c/32.png) [@SoulSearching](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/SoulSearching)\
**Post date:** [March 21, 2004, 1:01am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/virus-jdbgm/235483/1 "2004-03-21T01:01:41Z")

</div>

I recently found a file in the win32 registry folder called: jdbgm

It is named as a debugger, it has a teddy bear icon…is it a virus of some sort?

Can you guys do a search and see if you come up with that same file?

I’m afraid to use my CC# on this computer now.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![ultrafilter](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/u/3d9bf3/32.png) [@ultrafilter](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/ultrafilter)\
**Post date:** [March 21, 2004, 1:07am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/virus-jdbgm/235483/2 "2004-03-21T01:07:51Z")

</div>

It’s not a virus.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![TellMeI\_mNotCrazy](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/tellmei_mnotcrazy/32/3419_2.png) [@TellMeI\_mNotCrazy](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/TellMeI_mNotCrazy)\
**Post date:** [March 21, 2004, 1:07am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/virus-jdbgm/235483/3 "2004-03-21T01:07:59Z")

</div>

According to symantec, it’s a valid file:

[Symantec](http://symantec.com/avcenter/venc/data/jdbgmgr.exe.file.hoax.html)

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Tapioca\_Dextrin](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/t/3d9bf3/32.png) [@Tapioca\_Dextrin](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Tapioca_Dextrin)\
**Post date:** [March 21, 2004, 1:55am UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/virus-jdbgm/235483/4 "2004-03-21T01:55:38Z")

</div>

Microsoft says it’s an OK file

[http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;Q322993](http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;Q322993)
