# What's up with boards.academicpursuits.us?

**URL:** <https://boards.straightdope.com/t/whats-up-with-boards-academicpursuits-us/806836>\
**Category:** About This Message Board\
**Created:** [January 17, 2018, 4:55pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/whats-up-with-boards-academicpursuits-us/806836 "2018-01-17T16:55:50Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 6\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Thudlow\_Boink](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/thudlow_boink/32/320_2.png) [@Thudlow\_Boink](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Thudlow_Boink)\
**Post date:** [January 17, 2018, 4:55pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/whats-up-with-boards-academicpursuits-us/806836/1 "2018-01-17T16:55:50Z")

</div>

[https://boards.academicpursuits.us/sdmb/forumdisplay.php?s=&daysprune=2&f=15](https://boards.academicpursuits.us/sdmb/forumdisplay.php?s=&daysprune=2&f=15)

So I happen to have stumbled across a URL to a site that seems to be mirroring the SDMB. What is this? Is it legit?

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![running\_coach](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/running_coach/32/15836_2.png) [@running\_coach](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/running_coach)\
**Post date:** [January 17, 2018, 4:57pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/whats-up-with-boards-academicpursuits-us/806836/2 "2018-01-17T16:57:28Z")

</div>

We’ve seen those before. I think it’s to show potential advertisers a thriving board, justifying higher rates.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![engineer\_comp\_geek](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/engineer_comp_geek/32/504_2.png) [@engineer\_comp\_geek](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/engineer_comp_geek)\
**Post date:** [January 17, 2018, 5:03pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/whats-up-with-boards-academicpursuits-us/806836/3 "2018-01-17T17:03:49Z")

</div>

Thanks for letting us know. I’ve forwarded this to our admins.

They changed the name to Academic Pursuits so it’s not a testing site or anything legitimate.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Duckster](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/duckster/32/1244_2.png) [@Duckster](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Duckster)\
**Post date:** [January 18, 2018, 5:33pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/whats-up-with-boards-academicpursuits-us/806836/4 "2018-01-18T17:33:44Z")

</div>

It’s registered to someone (allegedly) in Texas.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![naita](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/naita/32/5862_2.png) [@naita](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/naita)\
**Post date:** [January 18, 2018, 5:45pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/whats-up-with-boards-academicpursuits-us/806836/5 "2018-01-18T17:45:42Z")

</div>

Check out their “best topics” at the bottom. Clicked on a couple, and “eggcorn database” is a three post thread from 2006.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Qadgop\_the\_Mercotan](https://sea3.discourse-cdn.com/straightdope/user_avatar/boards.straightdope.com/qadgop_the_mercotan/32/83_2.png) [@Qadgop\_the\_Mercotan](https://boards.straightdope.com/u/Qadgop_the_Mercotan)\
**Post date:** [January 18, 2018, 5:52pm UTC](https://boards.straightdope.com/t/whats-up-with-boards-academicpursuits-us/806836/6 "2018-01-18T17:52:10Z")

</div>

Well, at least it’s not the Chicken Board. _That_ was weird.
