Why do dumb people get assigned to answer the phone?

I had to call a well known craft superstore (not Michaels). I had to ask the clerk, we’ll call her “dumbfuckthatcan’tfigureoutthephone”, to put me through to department X. After 2 minutes of hearing her breathing and rubbing the phone all over the side of her head (I am assuming it was her head), she succeeds to put the call on hold.

Hold on…and on…and on…and on… Mind you I was trying to multitask so I wasn’t terribly in tune with just how long I was waiting. Finally get through only to be told I need to call back later as person I’m trying to reach isn’t there. Fine.

Approximately 1 and a half hour later I called back. Clerk, DFTCFOTP, answers. When I ask for department X again she says, “I’m sorry you’ve been on hold for so long”. She then proceeds to disconnect the call.

Since this is my first time posting a new thread, please go easy on me… just this first time*

It sounds to me like this girl was new and just hadn’t been taught how to use the phone properly. It seems a bit harsh to call her a “dumb fuck” for it. Of course, if she’s been working there years and has answered the phone everyday for the past 5 years, then yeah she’s dumb-ass.

I think that there has been a trend for companies to put low pay people on the front line. Often, the only people willing to accept such low pay either have a.) poor command of English or b.) poor command of their brain in general.

If a was one of those cigar-chomping fatcats, I’d put my best people in charge of handling customers. That’s likely why I’m not one of those cigar-chomping fatcats…

I’m going to change her name to “dumbASSthatcantfigureoutthephone” to give her the benefit of the doubt.

You’re right, I don’t know how long she worked there. If she’s new, then the clerk training her shall be called…“dumbfuckthatcanttrainworthshit”.