The Straight Dope

Go Back   Straight Dope Message Board > Main > In My Humble Opinion (IMHO)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-17-2002, 01:39 PM
Stink Fish Pot Stink Fish Pot is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
TVideo.com

Has anyone purchased a video from this company?


If so, what was the quality of video?

Also, how smooth was the transaction?

I've read their website, and they do not have a phone number and don't take credit cards. They only want a check or money order. The website is pretty thin, but they claim to have a movie I haven't been able to find anywhere else, so I'm hoping for some advice from anyone out there that may have ordered from them.

Thanks in advance,
Max
Reply With Quote
Advertisements  
  #2  
Old 07-17-2002, 02:38 PM
bibliophage bibliophage is offline
Charter Member
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Maine
Posts: 8,960
Since you're looking for advice, I'll move this thread to IMHO
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-17-2002, 06:58 PM
handy handy is offline
BANNED
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Pacific Grove, Calif
Posts: 17,493
A search of the net for them only shows their website.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-17-2002, 08:35 PM
Stink Fish Pot Stink Fish Pot is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Thanks, bibliophage.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-18-2002, 06:39 PM
Stink Fish Pot Stink Fish Pot is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
I'm giving this one bump to see if anyone out there can still help me. If not, I'm assuming this company is bogus. The website certainly doesn't inspire confidence.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-18-2002, 06:42 PM
Revtim Revtim is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Did you do a Google "groups" search? Give it a shot and see if anyone has anything to say about it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-18-2002, 08:24 PM
Stink Fish Pot Stink Fish Pot is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Revtim,

Great suggestion. Apparently, I'm not the only one who has asked questions about TVideo.com.

In no instance did I see any direct replies to the question "Has anyone purchased a video from TVideo.com? What I was able to piece together from newsgroups is that they sell bootleg movies and/or poor quality dubbed videos. There were quite a few links posted to the website, but these messages were usually not saying good or bad things about the company... they were merely pointing out the fact that TVideo.com carried a particular movie (probably as a result of a simple Google search.)

I have no idea what kind of reputation the company has, but when they don't provide a phone number, only take checks and money orders, and work through a P.O. box, red flags go up. It seems I'm not alone.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Send questions for Cecil Adams to: cecil@chicagoreader.com

Send comments about this website to: webmaster@straightdope.com

Terms of Use / Privacy Policy

Advertise on the Straight Dope!
(Your direct line to thousands of the smartest, hippest people on the planet, plus a few total dipsticks.)

Publishers - interested in subscribing to the Straight Dope?
Write to: sdsubscriptions@chicagoreader.com.

Copyright © 2013 Sun-Times Media, LLC.