You've got a story idea, but you can't write....

What do you do if you’ve come up with an interesting idea for a story, but you couldn’t write your out of a paper bag??

You get a ghostwriter. I’m a writer; give it to me. If it’s a bestseller, we split the profits.

Most authors can’t go to a party without someone coming up to them and saying “I got this great idea for a book. Why don’t you write it and we’ll split the profits?” Polite writers say “No, thanks.” Impolite writers laugh.

Many people think the idea for a story is the most important part. It’s not. Anyone can come up with an idea that could make a good story, but the matter of execution is something else entirely. A writer has no trouble coming up with ideas and doesn’t need help. It’s the writing skill that turns the idea into a story, and the idea is only about 2% of that.

If you think it’s really a great idea, then write the story yourself. You may be better than you think, and you have nothing to lose.

www.sff.net/people/rothman

That’s what editors are for.
– Sylence

“The problem with reality is the lack of background music.” – Anon

Okay - sure - give it a shot. But even good writers need an editor. I’m also an editor;
if it’s a bestseller, I’ll take 20%

You become the next John Grisham.

Nope. Book and magazine editors most assuredly do not rewrite your work for you. That’s a myth. If the story isn’t any good, they reject it. If it’s good, they buy it. If it’s extremely close, they’ll tell you to rewrite it, and then accept or reject it when you send it back.

You can hire a freelance editor or book doctor, but it would be hardly worth it for a short story. And no editor can make an inherently unpublishable work publishable. (By “publishable,” I mean that the work has a level of competence so that publication is a serious option; a publishable story may never actually be published because there are other factors at work.)