Ask a Methodist!

Over on the Ask a Catholic thread, Sanders asked if I’d start an “Ask a Methodist” thread. Never wanting to deny the request of a new member, I’ve done so!

Any questions about the arcane and mysterious world of Methodism can be asked here.

What are my qualifications? Well, I’m a first year student at Wesley Theological Seminary in Washington, D.C., where I’m studying for a Master of Divinity degree, and I’m a candidate for ordination as an Elder in the Rocky Mountain Annual Conference of The United Methodist Church. I can’t speak for Methodists who aren’t United Methodists (I can ask some friends, though.) I can’t speak for The United Methodist Church either, except by quoting official statements, but I can tell you my own understanding of Methodist beliefs and practices.

So go ahead and ask: What is the secret of the covered dish supper? What’s the difference between a District Board of Ordained Ministry and a pit of vipers? How many Roliads should you take if your heart is strangely warmed?

Ha! Take the Methodist challenge. Prove that you are a true Methodist.

1. Explain the difference between United Methodists and Free Methodists.

2. Explain why membership in the Freemasons and other “secret societies” is forbidden in the Methodist church.

3. Explain why some Methodist churches allow female pastors and others don’t.

4. Which Methodist college lays claim to Jars of Clay? (Five bonus points if you know what Jars of Clay is. Without looking it up on Google.)

Thank you, Alan!

I’m looking at this page. On the Articles of Religion, it states: “No Methodist or group of Methodists, not even the General Conference of the Church, has a right to change any of the Articles even by a word.”

Is this true, and if so, how can it be? I don’t believe the Methodist Church makes any claim to infallibility. Is there no possibility of errors?

The only Jars of Clay I know about is a Christian musical group. I’ve heard of them but haven’t heard them sing.