What causes water out of the exhaust pipe?

I have a friend whose car is spitting some water out of the exhaust. Someone told him he has a bad head gasket, but I’m skeptical. I’m no mechanic, but I’ve seen plenty of cars do this. Can they all have blown head gaskets??

Thanks, Lee

Gasoline is made up of carbon and hydrogen. When you burn it, it combines with oxygen to form carbon dioxide and water. In the combustion chamber, that water is a gas (steam). If the exhaust system is cold, some of the water will condense to form liquid water, and that’s what you see coming from the exhaust.

This condensation is also why short trips are tough on cars. Moisture in the exhaust system will evaporate once the whole thing is up to operating temperature (~15 minutes) but if it never warms up fully, the system rusts from the inside out. Usually the farthest bits back are the first to go.

Note that this condensation also happens inside the engine, with the same negative result, although on a somewhat more expensive scale. If you’ve ever opened your oil filler and seen a white sludge, it’s most likely caused by short trips or the engine not warming up.

All that said, if you are seeing steam or white smoke coming out of the tailpipe after the car is warmed up, start saving (and hurry) for a new head gasket.

HTH,
Capn

What Desmostylus said, and

C8H18 + 12.5O2 —> 8CO2 + 9H2O

When cold, water condensation on the tailpipe is a pretty good indication of an efficient engine.

Right?

When cold, water condensation on the tailpipe is a pretty good indication that the engine is in fact running.

Or, I could be missing your point entirely. What do you mean?

Is it water or is it steam?

Thanks. I told 'em what I learned here and of course we had a big argument. Several people said their cars never do this. My theory is that the shape of some exhaust systems traps water and it just burns off when the piupe gets hot. Am I all wet?