Ask a Software Engineer/Developer

I’m spinning this off of here to limit the hijack. My title is Software Engineer, and I’ve been working in industry for a little over two years. I graduated from Case Western Reserve University with a Masters Degree in Computer Science.

I know there are other engineer/developers on the board, and I’m interested in how their answers compare to mine, so please join in. I have some questions for other developers to start with:

How are schedules set in your comany?

• At my company, the developers are given specifications and are asked to provide estimates. If there is too much estimated for a release, features are moved to a later release. Management is very good about not pressuring developers to change their estimates

Roughly, what are the titles in your company? How do they map to responsibilities?

• Here we have developers, engineers, and architects. Developers and engineers are pretty much synonymous. Both are responsible for low to mid level design, the vast bulk of the coding, and some testing. The ammount of testing done before quality assurance takes over varys from programmer to programmer.

Architects are responsible for the big picture. They ensure that we’re building something that’s valuable, and that the pieces fit together. They also validate designs from engineers and have veto power on technical decisions.

Hal

We have pretty much the same title structure as your company, although we don’t have developers–just engineers.

Our schedules and budgets are more or less made up. We’re getting better (and quickly), but for the most part we’ve been pretty fast and loose about that sort of stuff.

“90% of any person’s attraction to/love of/belief in/evangelizing of a particular language/platform/OS/piece of software is about their temperment, not the object’s intrinsic virtues or flaws.”

Agree or disagree?