Ask the Direct Marketing (Call Center, Telemarketing, Junk Mail) Professional!

I know you have questions - I see them all the time, and try to bring a voice of reason and reality when I notice the threads.

So, here’s your chance to ask. I’ve worked in the Direct Marketing industry for 10 years, in various capacities. I’ve been a marketer: working with ad agencies to design and send direct mail, infomercials, radio ads, and print ads. I’ve supervised an inbound call center. I currently work as an internal Direct Marketing consultant as part of an IT group, providing general knowlege of direct marketing practices for both outbound and inbound call centers, and translating those into technical requirements.

So, what do you want to know?

I have a telemarketing question I hope you can answer.

Why does it usually take 6 or 7 seconds for a telemarketer to respond when you pick up the phone and say “Hello?” ?

When non-telemarketers call me, they never take more than a second or two to respond.

Thanks.

I see these telemarketer zappers advertized on TV. Do those work to get you off their list?

What is the quickest most effective way to remove yourself from a telemarketers list?

Surreal, IANATelemarketer but I believe that’s because the telephone numbers are dialed by a computer, and the human telemarketer only gets connected after the computer realizes that the phone has been picked up.

The telezappers DO work with some of the telemarketers. You can do the same thing by downloading the ring tones off the internet…save them to your answering machine.

There was a story a few months back about how a company had come out with a device to defeat the zapper…of course urging that it not be used to dial folks who don’t want to be dialed. :dubious:

Anywho…for Morgainelf, have you (or your company) ever spammed as part of a Direct Marketing campaign? (By spam, I mean sending unsolicited email…or flooding newsgroups with advertisements)