What does "to hook up" mean?

I hear people talking about hooking up, but I’m not sure what that means exactly. If a guy says he hooked up with a girl, what did they do together?

As far as I’ve heard, to hook up means to have sex with. My fellow college students enjoy using this phrase a lot.

When I was an undergrad, it meant either having sex or heavy making out - to the point of having sex without necessarily doing it.
Now, I use it mainly to express having sex - in a one-night stand type of context, not within a relationship.

If a respectable person uses the phrase, they mean to get together for a date. If a dumbshit uses the phrase, then libwen is on the money. I’m going to enroll into highschool so I can make “fuckizzle” a phrase.

Ha, that’s too funny. I’ve heard it used for both. It depends the company you keep - lol! :smiley:

My friends and I use it to mean having kissed. Not just a peck, but like open mouth tongue kissing (“French” sounds so silly).

That felt very 7th grade to explain that way. :smiley:

In my experience, it does not imply anything having to do with the boogie between the sexes. It might well be said that Steve and I hooked up at the Pub and went over to the sports bar where we hooked up with Dan and his pal (all heterosexual guys involved in that exchange).

It really depends on the context. Frex:

“I hooked up with [my friends] last night” = I spent my evening drinking and laughing with my friends, which did not include sex.

“I hooked up with [my partner] last night” = I spent my evening relaxing with my partner, which may or may not have included sex.

“I hooked up with [some guy from a bar] last night” = I spent the latter part of my evening fucking around with a random stranger, which most definitely included sex.

We’uns went fishin’ together.