For anyone who took a year off between high school and university/college

So I’m currently a Grade 11 student in Canada, I’ll be graduating next year, unfortunately Ihave no clue what career I want to pursue (well right now I’m deciding between something in law, or architecture). I’ve heard a lot of people here (or maybe just one person who gets around) recommending taking a few years off between high school and university/college and just work. This sounds like a good idea to me, but here are the problems I have with this.

1. Isn’t it hard to be accepted into uni/college when you haven’t been in school for a few years, is this even a problem?

2. How hard is it to get back into the swing of things after a few years of no education. I mean I forget half of my subject matter during 2 months of summer vacation, wouldn’t you find it incredibly to pick up where you left off a whole year ago when you do get into university?

I took what amounted to three years off, graduated high school in '97, worked two years, decided to go back to school and applied, started school in fall 2000.

It didn’t seem hard to get in (though I went to a big in-state school, so maybe that made it easier, I don’t know). I didn’t have too much trouble re-adjusting to school life. In fact, I think it was easier for me because I had learned how to be self-motivating while I was out of school. I don’t think I really had this skill in High School.

One thing though, I think I got a mind that is well-suited to academic pursuits, at least certain parts of it. I like to learn things and I test well. So I had pretty good SAT scores when applying and I could get excited about stuff that I thikn bores a lot of people.

I’m very glad I took time off. In some ways it might have been better to go back to school slightly sooner, but on the other hand, I don’t know whether I would have been ready.