Ask the Internet Oracle Priest

As some of you may or may not know (or care), I am a Priest of the Internet Oracle, an email based humor service.

If you’re not sure what the Oracle is, visit The Internet Oracle Homepage. You could also send an email to oracle@cs.indiana.edu with “help” in the subject line to get a copy of the help file.

I am planning to answer any question regarding the Oracle or the Priesthood that I can. Well, except for questions regarding the inflatable sheep.

I cannot answer questions regarding rec.humor.oracle.d, since I have not been active there in a couple of years.

Ask away.

I used to be an Oracle DBA. I don’t even know how you get certification for priest, sheesh. I’m now a Teradata consultant, no way was I going into SQL Server.

What?

How much wood could a woodchu

Sigh

Yes, that question or a variant crosses my inbox at least every other day.

No, I have yet to see a ZOT that was funny.

Oooh! I have a question.

I used to ask questions of the Usenet Oracle way back in 1989. I remember some of the “lore” from that time which included the dreaded “woodchuck” question. I also remember Orrie had a girlfriend who I believe was called Lisa.

My question is, in the past 15 years, what lore has come to be part of Usenet/Internet Oracle history?

Or is this a question better suited for the Oracle himself?

How did you get to be an Oracular Priest?

Lisa is still around, but mostly what I see written of her is rather derivative.

In 1994, Richard Wilson created a comic foil for The Oracle, a priest named Zadoc. He was a bit like Pinky to Orrie’s Brain.

1n 1996, some one created a Work Study Priest named Kendai. Kendai was a bit of a slacker; his grovels consisted of “guv.”

At the same time, Thag and Og started showing up. The less said about them, the better.