Ask the Artist!

It’s not really special, but I have no skills in anything useful like nuclear physics or organic stereochemistry. Art is the only thing I’m actually really good at. So if there’s anyone that is learning to do artwork or has a question about techniques, mediums, etc., I can probably answer it. I have a Graphic Design Diploma and I’ve taught Fine Arts courses. I can do and have done:

-Painting; oil, acrylics, watercolours and gouache
-Sculpting; clay (both by hand and thrown on a wheel), plaster, wax, wood and soapstone
-Drawing; pencils, pen & ink, charcoal, conte, coloured pencils
-Other mediums: Scratchboard (scraperboard)

So, I don’t know if I’ll get any questions, but I figured I’d give it a shot just to see if the only thing I’m good at is at all useful… :slight_smile:

What kind of watercolor and acrylic paints do you prefer?
What paintbrushes don’t shed fiber?

What is scratch board?

I did my first human portrait in acrylic.
It dried too fast.
What could I have done to improve it?

Is it much different to work with oils?
I got some for my birthday, but haven’t really expiremented with them as I’m finding the brushes a pain in the bum to clean. Is there an easier way to clean them than linseed oil*?

*If that’s what I even used…I have two bottles of stuff and that’s the only name I recall right now. :rolleyes:

Woo! Thanks for the question! I prefer transparent watercolours. You can get semi-opaque but I find the washes look cakey like children’s tempera paint. With the transparent you can add as many layers of colour as you need. As far as brands go, I really like Windsor & Newton. With watercolours, it pays to get the higher-end ones if you are serious about painting. The cheaper ones tend to fade faster and sometimes the pigments are not as soluble, leaving occasional dark dots of pigments with your wash. Avoid the cheap stuff.